ACCESSIBILITY COMMITTEE REPORT

Submitted by Lloyd Klein, Chair Bemidji State University

The Accessibility Committee met on August 15, 2002. Members included Shirley Habel (Chair), Lloyd Klein (Chair-elect) and Jennifer Wesely. The committee was designated to serve as advisors to the Executive Office in reviewing the language for registration and working to ensure accessibility for SSSP meeting attendees..

The committee chair could not attend the conference. The chair-elect was the sole representative attending the Accessibility Committee meeting. The meeting agenda included items concerning SSSP accommodation for individuals with accessibility concerns and the formation of a session devoted to accessibility issues.

Next year's committee will include Lloyd Klein (Chair), Jennifer Wesely (Chair-elect), and Jeremy Brunson.

One person attended the accessibility committee meeting today, Nancy J.H. Balazadah. At the meeting we discussed the following:

- 1. Themes and possible presenters for a committee sponsored session.
- 2. Cooperation between the Executive Office and session chairs in audio-taping sessions in which accessibility challenged attendees expressed specific interest. Discussion included a need to stress that session chairs encourage access during sessions through presenters taking care to explain overheads and provide hand-outs of presentation materials or copies on disk. Some video-taping was already arranged through Nancy J. H. Balazadah's communication with the Executive Office.
- 3. The need to incorporate more discussion of accessibility issues from the standpoint of individuals coping with disabilities. Nancy expressed a concern that issues surrounding disability and the social definition of deviance needed further clarification.

The Accessibility Committee worked with the Executive Office in achieving the following results during the past year:

- 1. The committee chair consulted with the Executive Office in reviewing the language for registration; and
- 2. The formation of a session devoted to accessibility issues.

A copy of this report will be forwarded to next year's committee members.

Finally, I would like to thank the board for their support of this committee. I would especially like to thank Nancy Jurik, Michele Koontz and Tom Hood for their help in clarifying the direction of this committee and acting on the expressed needs of conference attendees.