Resolution #1:

From: Past President Kathleen Ferraro and the 2004-2005 Board of Directors

Be it resolved that members of the SSSP regret deeply the display of insensitivity to issues of race and privilege and the demonstration of disrespect in awarding the minority scholarship during the 2004 awards banquet. Specifically, Past President Kathleen Ferraro extends an apology to members for failing to intervene appropriately and condemn this behavior at the time of its occurrence. The Society reaffirms our commitment to recognizing excellence and supporting minority scholars and to analyzing and improving the culture of our organization with regard to issues of privilege and race/ethnicity.

The current 2004-2005 Board of Directors joins the past President in re-affirming our commitment.

Resolutions #2:

From: Environment and Technology Division

WHEREAS the 2005 Budget Reconciliation Act under consideration at the start of the upcoming legislative session maintains provisions to begin drilling on the coastline of the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge (ANWR); AND

WHEREAS if passed, exploration and drilling measures will negatively affect sensitive arctic habitat and wildlife and threaten the subsistence tradition of the Gwi'chin nation and other aboriginal groups,

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the SSSP urges legislative reconsideration of the ANWR provision in order to keep ANWR closed to oil exploration and drilling, encourages legislative action for additional funding to promote alternative forms of energy and requests that SSSP write on behalf of the membership to United States Congressional leaders in the House of Representatives and Senate expressing our concerns regarding ANWR, as fore mentioned.

Resolutions #3:

From: Health, Health Policy, and Health Services Division

Mobility Enhancing Outdoor Environments

WHEREAS many outdoor environments in the U.S. currently lack sidewalks; AND

WHEREAS many sidewalks lack curb cuts that would permit wheelchair access; AND

WHEREAS pedestrian and wheelchair access are routinely discontinued during constructions; AND

WHEREAS sidewalk maintenance and design often impair mobility for pedestrians and individuals using walkers, wheelchairs, and strollers due to growth of tree roots, uneven material surfaces (brick or cobblestone) and the like; AND

WHEREAS the above-mentioned factors impair mobility for pedestrians and people using wheelchairs, limiting healthful exercise, AND contribute to injuries from falls; NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED: that the SSSP calls upon federal, state and local legislative and planning agencies to ensure:

1) that timetables be set for the building of sidewalks in and between residential and commercial areas where sidewalks

are lacking; AND

- 2) that regulations be promulgated requiring the inclusion of accessible sidewalks in all new residential and commercial constructions; AND
- 3) ensure that all sidewalks include curb cuts and adequate space for wheelchair and walker users; AND
- 4) require, to the extent possible, that wheelchair-accessible pathways continue to be available in pedestrian areas during construction projects; AND
- 5) require regular inspection and maintenance of sidewalks to ensure smooth surfaces are present; AND

6) require new construction projects include smooth accessible pathway design, avoiding the use of uneven cobblestones

or bricks for sidewalks unless accompanied by a smooth sidewalk.

[ACTION: send to state legislatures, federal senators and representatives], and HUD, and ADA senate committee and state economic development associations, and to Philadelphia and ACLU]

Resolution #4:

From: Standards and Freedom of Research, Publication and Teaching Committee

Academic Freedom Resolution

The Society for the Study of Social Problems, cognizant of the current anti-intellectual climate in American society and cognizant of attacks on both academic freedom and civil liberties, hereby reaffirms it's commitment to the principles of academic freedom and civil liberties generally and wishes to go on record as affirming that we stand in strong support of the AAUP (2005) position concerning academic freedom which states: "In the U.S., neither teachers nor students are responsible to the government for the content of their teaching or learning." Accordingly, the SSSP shall strongly resist any and all attacks on both academic freedom and civil liberties.

Copies of the Resolution should be sent to:

- * AAUP
- * American Language Association
- * Copy sent electronically to all SSSP members
- * Appear in the Social Problems Forum: The SSSP Newsletter

Resolution #5:

Sincere appreciation is expressed to all of the SSSP officers, committee chairs, and members who have made this program possible and who help keep the Society moving forward. First, we thank President Gary Alan Fine for organizing the 55th annual meeting around the theme, "Blowback: The Unintended Consequences of Social Problems Solutions." Through his leadership, the Society has once again affirmed its capacity for engaging social problems and for developing innovative forms of scholarly activism. We also thank this year's Program Committee co-chairs Tim Diamond and PJ McGann and their committee Joshua Gamson, Omar M. McRoberts and Mindy Stombler, who worked tirelessly in organizing an excellent program. Claire M. Renzetti, Local Arrangements Chair and her committee (Raquel Bergen and Shana Maier) deserve our appreciation for their coordinating efforts. The members of the Society wish to thank the Crowne Plaza Hotel staff for fine accommodations and we particularly want to recognize the efforts made by Wayne Miller, Crowne Meetings Director and Florence E. Schrank, Senior Sales Manager.

The Society wishes to express its gratitude to past president Kathleen J. Ferraro for her years of leadership; vice-president Martha A. Hargraves for managing the resolutions process; JoAnn L. Miller for her service as Secretary; and Susan M. Carlson for her service as Treasurer. The Society also thanks Claire M. Renzetti, President-Elect; Kimberly J. Cook, Vice-President Elect; Board of Directors Kathleen S. Lowney, David A. Smith, Amy S. Wharton, Pierrette Hondagneu-Sotelo and Wendy Simonds; outgoing Board members A. Javier Trevino and Paul Luken; Aimee Van Wagenen (outgoing) and Luis Fernandez, student representatives of the Board; Carrie Yang Costello, Chair of the Council of Special Problems Division; James A. Holstein, outgoing Editor of Social Problems; Stephen Couch, outgoing Editor of Social Problems Forum: The SSSP Newsletter, Kimberly J. Cook, Long-Range Planning Committee Chair and her committee Karl Bryant, Susan M. Carlson, Donald Cunnigen, Nelta M. Edwards, Luis Fernandez, Kathleen J. Ferraro, Martha A. Hargraves, Robert Perrucci, Claire Renzetti and Aimee Van Wagenen; Bruce Johnson, outgoing Budget, Finance and Audit Committee Chair and his committee David Rudy, Marino Bruce and Susan M. Carlson; Nancy Naples, outgoing Editorial and Publications Committee Chair and her committee Wendy Chapkis, Doris Wilkinson, Rob Benford, Patricia Yancey Martin, James Orcutt, James A. Holstein, Stephen Couch and Bruce Johnson; Exit 5 band for performing at the AIDS fundraiser; the University of Tennessee and the Department of Sociology for hosting the SSSP Executive Office; the Department of Sociology and the Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences of Northwestern University for their financial contribution to the reception honoring our past presidents; and the University of California Press for their financial contribution to our registration bags.

Finally, the Society wishes to thank Executive Officer Tom Hood, Administrative Officer & Meeting Manager Michele Smith Koontz, and Graduate Research Associate Denise Knight for continuing to make the organization run and do all that it does year in and year out.