Minutes of the SSSP Board of Directors Meeting Thursday, August 10, 2006, Montréal, Québec, Canada

The meeting was called to order by President Claire M. Renzetti.

Those present introduced themselves: Claire Renzetti, President, Valerie Jenness, President-Elect, Gary Alan Fine, Past-President, Kim Cook, Vice President, Keith Kilty, Vice President-Elect, Susan Carlson, Treasurer, JoAnn Miller, Secretary, Kathy Lowney, Wendy Simonds, Tracy Dietz, Donald Cunnigen, David Smith, and Paul Luken, Board of Directors; Luis Fernandez and Naomi Nichols, Student Members, Board of Directors; Thomas C. Hood, Executive Officer, Michele Smith Koontz, Administrative Officer and Meeting Manager; Carrie Yang Costello, Chair, Council of Special Problems Divisions Chairpersons; David Rudy, Chair, Budget, Finance, and Audit Committee; Amy Wharton, Editor, *Social Problems*, Ken Kyle, Editor, *Social Problems Forum*, Lisa Brush, Chair, C. Wright Mills Award Committee, James Gruber, Chair, Lee Student Support Fund Committee, and Shirley A. Jackson, Chair-Elect, Racial/Ethnic Minority Graduate Scholarship Committee

The Agenda was revised for the purpose of concluding discussion on the Report from the Permanent Organization and Strategic Planning Committee. The revised agenda was accepted.

Nancy Jurik discussed the Committee's position regarding recruitment for the Executive Officer. It is imperative for applicants to include a statement of their vision for SSSP that reflects the Society's purpose, as stated in its Bylaws.

Tom Hood noted that the hiring process requires a three-year time line. At next year's annual meeting, the process will begin because Tom's plan is to retire in 2009.

Lisa Brush presented the C. Wright Mills Award Committee report. The committee reviewed more than 80 books and selected seven finalists. This year's winner is Pun Ngai for *Made in China: Women Factory Workers in a Global Workplace*.

Michele Koontz, on behalf of Patrick Donnelly, presented the Smigel Committee report. Richard Dello Buono, Diane Gifford, and Laura Finley are this year's recipients. The Committee recommends that the description of the award be modified slightly to specify that: Applicants must be members of SSSP; and winners will be announced by April 1.

Michele Koontz, on behalf of Susan Caringella, presented the Lee Scholar-Activist Committee report. The committee received 4 applications and made 4 awards. Unfortunately, two of the applicants were not able to attend the meeting. The committee funded two scholars from Cuba who were unable to attend the 2003 annual meeting because of difficulties in receiving visas.

James Gruber presented the report from the Lee Student Support Fund Committee. The committee received 33 applications and made 29 awards, totaling \$7,485 ranging from

\$125 to \$625. The committee received 41 requests for mentoring. The committee concludes that it would be useful to have sign-up sheets for mentors and mentees in public spaces during the conference to attract a larger pool of both groups. MOTION: THAT A STATEMENT BE INCLUDED ON THE APPLICATION THAT INDICATES FUNDS ARE LIMITED. SECONDED. PASSED.

MOTION: THAT THE DEADLINE FOR APPLICATIONS FOR THE MEETING MENTOR PROGRAM BE CHANGED TO JUNE 1. SECONDED. PASSED.

Shirley Jackson, on behalf of Angela Moe, presented the report from the Racial/Ethnic Minority Graduate Scholarship Committee Chair. The committee reviewed 22 applications and reports that 12 identified as African American, six as Latino(a), one Asian, one Pacific Islander, one biracial, and one Polish. The winner of this year's award is Rashawn Jabar Ray, a doctoral student at Indiana University.

The Board discussed whether applicants need to be U.S. citizens. Tom Hood noted that SSSP members do not need to be U.S. citizens. Claire Renzetti recommended that the Committee should revise the application for the award and send it to the Board (electronically) for approval.

Carrie Yang Costello summarized five issues and concerns pertaining to the Special Problems Divisions. (1) Nancy Mezey is the new Chair, Council of Special Problems Divisions. (2) The Division Chairs unanimously voted to change the term "business meeting" to "divisional meeting – open to all members." (3) She suggested a meeting with the newly elected division chairs. (4) The division chairs expressed interest in the Just World Booklet. Tom Hood will scan the current booklet and put it on the SSSP web page. He will then contact the division chairs. (5) It is difficult to complete the resolutions process and the nominations process in one meeting.

Kim Cook noted that resolutions undergo revisions during the meeting. Tom Hood noted that resolutions perhaps should be considered prior to the annual meeting.

Ken Kyle gave the annual report on *Social Problems Forum*. He noted that he attempts to balance the newsletter dimension of the publication with scholarship. A new section, "News of Note" was featured.

Tom Hood introduced new business. A SSSP member approached the Executive Office to request the use of member email contacts for marketing a book.

MOTION: THAT SSSP ADOPTS A POLICY NOT TO DISTRIBUTE EMAIL LISTS FOR ANY MARKETING PURPOSE; HOWEVER THE BOARD MAY OVERRIDE THE DECISION ON A CASE BY CASE BASIS. SECONDED. PASSED.

The 2005-2006 Board Meeting was adjourned by Claire M. Renzetti.