TO: SSSP Board of Directors

FROM: Lisa D. Brush, Chair, 2005 C. Wright Mills Award Committee

RE: Final committee report

DATE: July 20, 2006

On behalf of the committee, President Renzetti, and the entire membership of SSSP, I am delighted to announce that the winner of the 2005 C. Wright Mills Award is: Pun Ngai for *Made in China* 

The award is made to the author of a book published in the calendar year (in this case, 2005) that:

- 1. Critically addresses an issue of contemporary public importance.
- 2. Brings to the topic a fresh, imaginative perspective.
- 3. Advances social scientific understanding of the topic.
- 4. Displays a theoretically informed view *and* empirical orientation.
- 5. Evinces quality in style of writing.
- 6. Explicitly or implicitly contains implications for courses of action.

The committee reviewed more than 80 nominated books this year. The committee helped me select the seven finalists:

Prudence L. Carter, *Keepin' it real: School success beyond black and white*Carrie Yang Costello, *Professional identity crisis: Race, class, gender, and success at professional schools* 

Nicholas De Genova, Working the boundaries: Race, space, and 'illegality' in Mexican Chicago

Renny Golden, War on the family: Mothers in prison and the families they leave behind Patricia Yancey Martin, Rape work: Victims, gender, and emotions in organization and community context

Pun Ngai, Made in China: Women factory workers in a global workplace Jennifer A. Reich, Fixing families: Parents, power, and the child welfare system

I am happy to acknowledge the labor and good judgment of my long-suffering, hardworking committee members:

Joan Acker Heather Dalmage Hector Delgado Kevin Hanson Mary Romero Jennifer Wesley

I would like to thank President Renzetti for inviting me to serve SSSP as chair of this very interesting committee. I will announce the award at the banquet on Friday.