Report from the Smigel Committee:

The Committee, consisting of Joya Misra, Aaron Kupchik and Patrick Donnelly (Chair), received four applications for support for participation in the 2006 meetings. After reviewing the applications and determining that one applicant did not meet the criteria (SSSP membership and participation in the meetings), the Committee determined to split the available funds among the three worthy applicants with each applicant being awarded \$500. The recipients are: Richard Dello Buono, Diane Gifford and Laura Finley.

The Committee recommends that the description of the award be modified slightly to specify that: applicants must be members of SSSP, and; winners will be announced by April 1.

Respectfully Submitted, Patrick Donnelly

Patrick G. Donnelly, Ph.D. Professor of Sociology Department of Sociology University of Dayton Dayton, OH 45469-1442 937-229-2439 Fax: 937-229-3900

donnelly@udayton.edu