July 2, 2007

Report from the Smigel Committee:

The Committee, which consisted of Marlese Durr, Marta Maldonado, and Aaron Kupchik (chair), received five applications for the 2007 Erwin O. Smigel Award. Two of these applicants did not meet the criteria of SSSP membership and conference participation. The Committee decided to split the available funds among the three eligible applicants, with each receiving \$500. The recipients were: Richard Dello Buono, Chien-Juh Gu, and Anthony Iafrate.

Respectfully Submitted, Aaron Kupchik

Aaron Kupchik, Ph.D. Assistant Professor of Sociology and Criminal Justice University of Delaware 322 Smith Hall Newark, DE 19716 302 831-3267 Fax: 302 831-2607 akupchik@udel.edu