MEMORANDUM

TO: SSSP BOARD OF DIRECTORS

FROM: DEBORAH THORNE, CHAIR LEE FOUNDERS AWARD COMMITTEE (2007)

Committee Members: Joel Best, Michael Coyle, Elaine Draper, Kathleen Ferraro, Stephen Morewitz, Wendy Simonds. Chair Elect: Kathleen Ferraro

By the April 15 deadline, the committee had not received any nominations for the Founders' Award. SSSP Board Members and members of the Founders Award Committee were contacted and encouraged to nominate deserving individuals. Acting on that request, Joel Best nominated Dr. Peter Conrad, who served as SSSP president in 1995-96. Following a thorough review of the supporting materials submitted on Dr. Conrad's behalf, the committee members unanimously and with great enthusiasm recommended that Dr. Conrad receive the Lee Founders Award for 2007.

Joel's nomination letter described Peter's work as "very much in the tradition established by the Lees: his is an original, humanistic, skeptical view, one that often challenges conventional wisdom and established social relationships." As an expert in the field of medical sociology, over the course of his career Peter has demonstrated how medicalization, as a social problem, perpetuates social inequality, marginalization, and disparities. Peter's extensive contributions to his discipline prove that he is an exceptional sociologist. Indeed, as an author of one letter of support wrote: "[Peter] is *the* single most influential qualitative medical sociologist [alive today]." Of equal importance, his colleagues consistently describe him as a promoter "of social justice," a man whose work exposes the power differentials that exist between modern medicine and the patient.

The committee congratulates Peter Conrad on his admirable career and the recognition that comes with being nominated for the SSSP Lee Founders Award.