## To: SSSP Board of Directors

From: Lee Scholar-Activist Committee 2006-2007

Mangala Subramaniam, Purdue University, Chair Luis Fernandez, Northern Arizona University, Member Luke Shaefer, University of Chicago, Member

Date: May 11, 2007

## (A) Applications and Funding

1. Michele Koontz informed the Chair of the committee the following:

"The committee has \$4,000 to allocate. In addition, two scholars from Mexico, Victor M. Figueroa and Irma Lorene Acosta Reveles, were unable to attend the 2006 annual meeting. The Board of Directors approved that their awards be deferred to this year. Thus, Victor and Irma will each receive \$1,071. This money is in addition to the \$4,000. Once your committee has determined the award amounts, please send me a list of each applicant's complete mailing address, email address, and approved award amount. I will contact each applicant via email and inform him/her of their award amount and ask them to confirm their participation at the 2007 annual meeting before I process and mail their checks. I will need to notify all applicants if their application was accepted/rejected no later than May 15, 2007."

- 2. We adopted the criteria applied in 2005-2006 to determine the eligibility of awardees: SSSP membership, anticipated program participation, and work in "labor, gender, and racial-ethnic, less advantaged countries, and other struggles ... applying sociological findings to confront social problems and create social change." We received a total of 17 applications this year. Of this, one applicant, Rödner-Sznitman, Sharon, is a student who immediately withdrew her application. Six other applicants (Gunes, Fatime; Hutton, Clinton A.; Powell, Lawrence; Romanienko, Lisa A; Lambini, Cosmas Kombat; and Sevjid, Dorjdagva) are not 2007 members of SSSP. That left us with ten eligible applicants (compared to four applicants last year).
- 3. The committee Chair proposed the following awards and rationale: The applicants at serial # 1 through 10 of the attached sheet meet all the eligibility criteria noted above. Two of the applicants have requested for over \$2,000 (Hossain from Bangladesh and Getaneh from Ethiopia). I suggest we give each of these applicants Hossain and Getaneh -- \$500 each. The remaining eight applicants will get \$375 each. I think it would be best to divide the available amount as equally as possible instead of creating some differential rationale. Refer to Figure 1.
- (B) Deferment of awards from 2005-2006

The committee had to consider the issue of deferment of awards to two earlier awardees. The following is the addendum made to the 2005-2006 committee report on June 15, 2006 Irma Lorena Acosta and Victor Figueroa are not able to attend the SSSP meetings. Their checks are to be returned to Michele Koontz.

Figure 1 Recommended Awards

Name of Applicant	Country	Recommended
		Award Amount
Hossain, Shahadat	Bangladesh	\$500
Getaneh, Zelalem Gebreegziabher	Ethiopia	\$500
Avila, Diana	Peru	\$375
De la Barra, Ximena	Chile	\$375
Sabbagh, Clara	Israel	\$375
Arias Feijoo, Jimena	Argentina	\$375
Alvarez, Leonel	Mexico	\$375
Figueroa, Silvana	Mexico	\$375
Cockcroft, James	Canada	\$375
Datta, Ranjan	Norway	\$375

The following note from R.A. Dello Buono, Chair, SSSP Global Division was forwarded to the Chair of this committee by Michele on May 9, 2007:

"Victor and Irma continue to have problems with their passport and visa arrang[e]ments. As exiles from Chile, it looks like there are new regulations that will oblige them to return to Chile for several weeks in order to renew their expiring passports... previously this could be done at a consulate. Only when that is completed can they apply for visas to the US. It looks like they will be unable to manage to slot in that kind of time to return to Chile in time for this year's meetings. I told him that I would recommend that they defer their presentations until Boston and they agree. I prefer this rather than the uncertainty on panels. I would like to recom[m]end that the Board consider deferring their funds to the following year. For now, we should drop them from this year's program."

We recommend deferment of the awards made in the previous year to Irma Lorena Acosta and Victor Figueroa.

(C) On behalf of the committee, thanks to Michele Koontz for assisting and keeping us informed of the details and deadlines.

Respectfully submitted, Mangala Subramaniam

## **ADDENDUM TO THE REPORT: MAY 25, 2007**

(A) Michele Koontz provided the Chair of the Committee with an update on the awardees and specifically about two cases. First, Ranjan Datta is a student and had applied for support from the Lee Student Support Fund; and also received an award. As the SSSP application clearly states "You can only choose **ONE**. If you are an undergraduate or graduate student, you must

apply for the Lee Student Support Fund" we had to withdraw the award to Ranjan Datta. Second, Shahdat Hossain had informed that she will not be able to attend the 2007 meetings. The total amount available for reallocation now was \$875.

(B) As of now, the remaining 8 applicants have confirmed their attendance at the 2007 annual meetings. The Committee Chair proposed providing an additional amount of \$100 for the seven applicants who had originally each been awarded \$375 (\$475 each); and an additional \$175 for Getaneh who had originally received \$500 (for a total of \$675). Both committee members concurred with this suggestion. The revised award for each eligible applicant is as in Figure 2 below.

Figure 2 Revised award amounts

Name of Applicant	Country	Revised Award Amount
Getaneh, Zelalem Gebreegziabher	Ethiopia	\$675
Avila, Diana	Peru	\$475
De la Barra, Ximena	Chile	\$475
Sabbagh, Clara	Israel	\$475
Arias Feijoo, Jimena	Argentina	\$475
Alvarez, Leonel	Mexico	\$475
Figueroa, Silvana	Mexico	\$475
Cockcroft, James	Canada	\$475

Respectfully submitted, Mangala Subramaniam