To: SSSP Board of Directors

From: Lee Scholar-Activist Committee 2007-2008

Luis Fernandez, Chair Lisa Anne Zilney, Chair-Elect, Madelaine Adelman, Member Richard Dello Buono, Member

Date: April 3, 2008

(A) Applications and Funding

1. Michele Koontz informed the Chair of the committee the following:

"The committee has \$4,000 to allocate. In addition, two scholars from Mexico, Victor M. Figueroa and Irma Lorene Acosta Reveles, were unable to attend the 2006 and 2007 annual meeting. The Board of Directors approved that their awards be deferred to this year. Therefore, Victor and Irma will each receive \$1,071. This money is in addition to the \$4,000. Once your committee has determined the award amounts, please send me a list of each applicant's complete mailing address, email address, and approved award amount. I will contact each applicant via email and inform them of their award and ask them to confirm their participation in the 2008 annual meeting before I process and mail their checks. I will need to notify all applicants if their application was accepted/rejected no later than May 15, 2008. I hope to hear from you soon. Please let me know if you have any questions."

2. After some discussion among committee members, we decided to give priority to individuals who met the following criteria: SSSP membership, anticipated program participation, and individuals from less developed countries.

A total of 9 individuals applied for funding this year. Of these, one applicant, Lisa Inez Herman-Spilde, is a student, which disqualified her. Another applicant, Maria Claudia Andrede, was not a current member. After detailed discussion, the committee decided to decline her application and focus the funding on other applicants from less developed nation. Finally, Geoffrey I. Nwaka declined the award because he was unable to find additional money to cover his entire traveling costs.

3. The committee Chair proposed the following awards and rationale: The applicants listed in Figure 1 were all awarded money equally. The committee discussed several ways to distribute the award. However, we came to the conclusion that distributing the award equally among the applicants was best, mainly because we did not have enough information to rank the applicants. Thus, all the applicants were awarded \$666.67.

The committee has also asked that if individuals are not able to accept the award, that the remaining monies be distributed among the applicants who have accepted and are attending the conference.

(B) Deferment of awards from 2007-2008

The committee had to consider the issue of deferment of awards to two earlier awardees. Two scholars from Mexico, Victor M. Figueroa and Irma Lorene Acosta Reveles, were unable to attend the 2006-2007 annual meeting. The Board of Directors approved that their awards be deferred to this year. Therefore, Victor and Irma will each receive \$1,071.

Figure 1 Recommended Awards

Tigure 1			Recommended
Last Name:	First Name	Country:	Award Amount
Arias Feijoo	Jimena	Argentina	\$666.67 + \$133.33
Avila	Diana	Peru	\$666.67 + \$133.33
de la Barra	Ximena	Chile	\$666.67 + \$133.33
Freidin	Betina	Argentina	\$666.67 + \$133.33
	Zelalem		\$666.67
Getaneh	Gebreegziabher	Ethiopia	
Gunes	Fatime	Turkey	\$666.67 + \$133.33
Deferred			
Figueroa	Victoria		\$1,071
Acosta Reveles	Irma Lorene		\$1,071

(C) On behalf of the committee, thanks to Michele Koontz for assisting and keeping us informed of the details and deadlines.

Respectfully submitted, Luis Fernandez

ADDENDUM LEE SCHOLAR-ACTIVIST COMMITTEE 2007-2008:

On July 3rd, Zelalem Gebreegziabher Getaneh notified the Executive Office that he would not be attending the Annual Meeting. The committee decided that any money that came back would then go the remaining applicants. Thus, each applicant received \$800.00.