2008-2009 SSSP Board of Directors Minutes Friday, August 7, 2009

Meeting Called to Order by President Steven E. Barkan and adoption of the Board Agenda.

Members Present:

Steve Barkan President
JoAnn Miller President-Elect
Nancy Naples Past-President
Cheryl Boudreaux Vice-President
PJ McGann Vice President-Elect

Martha Hargraves
Dave Rudy
Treasurer
Luis Fernandez
Board Member
John Galliher
Board Member
Alison Griffith
Board Member
Michelle Janning
Carolyn C. Perrucci
Board Member

Melanie Carlson Student Board Representative Antwan Jones Student Board Representative

Nancy Mezey Chairperson, Council of the Special Problems Divisions

Stephani Williams Incoming Chairperson, Council of the Special Problems Divisions

Ted Chiricos Editor, Social Problems

Ken Kyle Editor, Social Problems Forum: The SSSP Newsletter

Adriana L. Bohm
Chair, Racial/Ethnic Minority Graduate Scholarship Committee

Susan Carlson
Chair, Permanent Organization and Strategic Planning Committee

Len Gordon Chair, User's Guide Development Committee

Lisa Anne Zilney Chair, Lee Scholar-Activist Support Fund Committee

Héctor Delgado Executive Officer

Tom Hood Past Executive Officer & Chair, Joseph B. Gittler Award Committee

Michele Koontz Administrative Officer & Meeting Manager

The agenda proceeded as approved and began with the acceptance, by the Board, of the follow Committee Reports:

- Accessibility Committee Chair Liat Ben-Moshe
- C. Wright Mills Award Committee Chair Heather Dalmage
- Elections Committee Michele Koontz on behalf of Patrick Donnelly
- Erwin O. Smigel Award Committee Chair PJ McGann
- Lee Founders Award Committee Chair Carolyn Perrucci
- Membership Committee Chair Aimee Van Wagenen on behalf of Jean Elson
- Permanent Organization and Strategic Planning Committee Chair Susan Carlson
- Social Action and Social Action Award Committee Chair Wendy Simonds
- Concerns of the Special Problems Divisions and Summary of Activities, 2008-2009 Nancy Mezey

Board Actions taken for the following Committees:

Joseph B. Gittler Award Committee received Board approval for its recommendation "that income beyond that needed to make the award be reinvested in the endowment."

Lee Scholar-Activist Support Fund Committee Report received Board approval to amend the language in Section 16 of the By-laws to specify that the award be limited to foreign scholars from economically disadvantaged countries. Additionally, "Activist" should be removed from the committee's name.

Lee Student Support Fund Committee Report received Board approval to carry over \$225 designated for a student who could not attend this year's annual meeting. Further, if the student failed to participate at next year's conference, the carry-over will revert to the General Fund.

Racial/Ethnic Minority Graduate Scholarship Committee Report received special attention and discussion in response to the committee's expressed challenges and concerns. The Board approved the motion to charge the Executive Officer to create an ad hoc committee for 2009-2010 on which he serves as an ex officio member, devoted to 1) racial ethnic minority/people of color involvement in the SSSP and 2) the eligibility and recruitment efforts and criteria upon which the Racial/Ethnic Minority Graduate Scholarship is based.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.