Erwin O. Smigel Award Committee Report

Committee Members: Michelle Budig, Chair-Elect, Rachel L. Rayburn, and Tamara L. Mix, Chair

The premise of the Erwin O. Smigel Award is to support SSSP meeting attendance for three or four unemployed or severely underemployed sociologists with a maximum award allocation of \$500.00.

For 2011, the Smigel Award Committee received four online applications. Two of the applicants were students and thus ineligible under the award guidelines. The committee awarded the maximum allowable funding to the remaining two applicants K. Mechell Ward and Jennifer L. Heller. K. Mechell Ward serves actively on the Membership and Outreach committee. Jennifer L. Heller will be presenting her paper titled "The Rejection of Structural Privilege Regarding the Presumption of who is a 'Good' Mother among Women from a Dominant Social Location." Unfortunately, the remaining award monies were not allocated due to a lack of applicants.

Respectfully, Tamara L. Mix, Chair 2011 Erwin O. Smigel Committee