Erwin O. Smigel Award Committee Report

Committee Members: Michelle Budig, Chair, John Alessio, Chair-Elect, and Melanie Carlson

The premise of the Erwin O. Smigel Award is to support SSSP meeting attendance for three or four unemployed or severely underemployed sociologists with a maximum award allocation of \$500.00. For 2012, the Smigel Award Committee received six valid online applications. One of the applicants was a student and thus judged ineligible under the award guidelines. The committee awarded the maximum allowable funding to the remaining three applicants: Elisabeth Sheff, Chauntelle Tibbals, and Kathy Ashbury.

Elisabeth Sheff was denied tenure at Georgia State University and will no longer be employed at the time of the meetings. She is on the SSSP Board of Directors, and is an organizer of and presenting on a panel co-sponsored by the SBPC and the Family Division.

Chauntelle Anne Tibbals completed her PhD in 2010 at UT-Austin and has a visiting scholar appointment (without pay) at the University of Southern California. She is active scholar invited to be a panelist by Ashley Currier to speak on "The Art of Using New Media in Social Research" at the SSSP meetings.

Kath Ashbury is a part-time adjunct professor at several colleges with unknown employment for the 2012-13 academic year. She serves on the Committee for Committees, and is organizer, presider and presenter for a SSSP panel entitled "Sexuality on the Edge." She is also a multi-year volunteer at the annual meeting registration desk.

Respectfully, Michelle J. Budig, Chair 2012 Erwin O. Smigel Committee