To: SSSP Board of Directors

From: 2011-2012 Lee Scholar Support Fund Committee

Subject: 2012 Lee Scholar Support Fund Committee Report

July 26, 2012

The Lee Scholar Support Fund Committee 2012 included Nadia Shapkina (Chair), Jon Shefner (Chair Elect), and Hephzibah Strmic-Pawl. The committee was informed by Michele Smith Koontz that fund available for this year was \$4,000.

Five applicants met the eligibility requirements (current non-student SSSP membership, accepted conference paper, from economically disadvantaged countries - Nigeria (four applicants) and Pakistan (one applicant).

The committee started the selection process on April 9, 2012. The evaluation of applications was guided by the goals of the Lee Scholar Support Fund (facilitating scholarly participation by persons engaged in research related to labor, gender, race-ethnicity, less advantaged countries, and other struggles) and the significance of their research papers. History of previously received funding from the Lee Scholar Support Fund was taken into consideration. Information about applicants' countries of origin and papers' titles and abstracts as well as the amount requested was available to the committee members for evaluation.

Following consideration by the full committee, two applicants were selected as the award recipients, including Ojo Melvin Agunbiade (Nigeria) and Dr. Sayeeda Amber Sayed (Pakistan). The committee decided to split the available fund equally to two selected applicants. Both selected applicants accepted the awards.

The 2012 award recipients are as follows:

AWARDEE	COUNTRY	AWARD
Ojo Melvin Agunbiade	Nigeria	\$2,000
Dr. Sayeeda Amber Sayed	Pakistan	\$2,000

Submitted July 26 by Nadia Shapkina

Nadia Shapkina, Chair, 2011-2012 Lee Scholar Support Fund Committee Jon Shefner, Chair Elect Hephzibah Strmic-Pawl