To: The Board of the Society for the Study of Social Problems

From: The Lee Founders Award Committee, Shari L. Dworkin, Chair

Six individuals were nominated for the 2012 Lee Founders Award: Kathleen Ferraro, Pierrette Hondagneu Sotelo, Evelyn Nakano Glenn, Nancy Naples, Cecilia Menjivar, and Ray Michalowski. All were nominated internally by the committee and letters of nomination were detailed and submitted by committee members. Nearly all of the candidates were ranked #1 by some of the committee members. Hence, the committee decided to rank the top three candidates in order to proceed with a method that made the voting process more reasonable.

The Committee then ranked the top three candidates, the votes were counted by the Chair, and the top three nominees were determined to be: Pierrette Hondagneu Sotelo, Evelyn Nakano Glenn, and Nancy Naples. The committee then discussed who among these three nominees should be the award winner.

All of the candidates were deemed worthy of the award but Evelyn Nakano Glenn's distinguished record of accomplishment (length, breadth, and content) was deemed the most highly reflective of the spirit of the Lee Founders Award. Dr. Evelyn Nakano Glenn was deemed the winner of the Lee Founders Award in 2012.

Once the vote was finalized, several committee members discussed the fact that many other nominees were also quite award worthy. Hence, the committee now makes the recommendation that the names of those nominees who did not win in 2012 should be rolled over as nominees for the 2013 award. If the Committee Chair for the Lee Founders Award next year agrees (Chair Elect: Nancy Jurik), the nominees who would be rolled over for consideration would include: Kathleen Ferraro, Pierrette Hondagneu Sotelo, Nancy Naples, Cecilia Menjivar, and Ray Michalowski. The Chair next year (Nancy Jurik) can request a new CV from these nominees and a slightly updated letter of nomination, or the current Chair is pleased to forward the letters to Dr. Jurik that were submitted in 2012 to the Committee in 2013.

Sincere and best regards,

The Lee Founders Award Committee

Shari L. Dworkin, Chair, Nancy Jurik Chair-Elect, PJ McGann, Marjorie DeVault, Joya Misra, Jan E. Thomas, and Richard M. Levinson