To: SSSP Board of Directors

From: Raymond Michalowski, Chair

2012 C.Wright Mills Award Committee

RE: Final Report

Date: July 20, 2013

I want to begin by thanking the members of the 2012 C.W. Mills committee for all of their hard work on the challenging and time-consuming project of selecting this year's award winner. The 2012 committee members are: A. Antonio González-Prendes, Harry F. Dahms, Corey Dolgon, Shannon M. Monnat, Gretchen Purser, Victor Rios, Ronnie J. Steinberg.

The committee reviewed sixty-six nominated books using a three-step process. In the first step committee members were asked to place each book into one of three categories – a book I would very much would like to review, a book I am willing to review, and a book that is outside my area of interest or expertise. Using this as a base guideline each book was assigned to three reviewers. My goal in making these assignments was, as much as possible, to match reviewer interest and expertise with the books they were asked to review. This process worked well. There were only five instances out of 198 pairings where someone was asked to evaluate a book they had initially placed in their third category.

Reviewers were then asked to rate each of their assigned books on a one to five scale ranging from most to least likely to be an award winner, using an evaluation that assessed the books according to the award guidelines. The ratings for each book were placed into a matrix. The committee then used this matrix as the basis for a telephone meeting using Free Conference Call. The initial goal of our first conference call was to arrive at a short list of 10 books that all committee members would read in preparation for determining the finalists. In the end, however, the "short" list included fifteen books.

Committee members then reviewed each of these books, in preparation for a second conference call, rating each as a likely winner, a possible winner, or not a possible winner. These ratings were then placed into a matrix that was used as the basis for our discussion which eventually determined the finalists to be:

- David Cunningham, *Klansville, U.S.A.: The Rise and Fall of the Civil Rights-Era Ku Klux Klan*, Oxford University Press.
- Cybelle Fox, *Three Worlds of Relief: Race, Immigration, and the American Welfare State from the Progressive Era to the New Deal*, Princeton University Press.

- Matthew W. Hughey, *White Bound: Nationalists, Antiracists, and the Shared Meanings of Race,* Stanford University Press.
- Alondra Nelson, *Body and Soul: The Black Panther Party and the Fight against Medical Discrimination*, University of Minnesota Press.
- Susan Crawford Sullivan, *Living Faith: Everyday Religion and Mothers in Poverty*, University of Chicago Press.

At this meeting the committee also selected *Three Worlds of Relief* as the 2012 C.Wright Mills Award Winner.

For the most part the process worked fairly smoothly. The one issue that emerged concerned date of publication. The committee encountered one book that had a 2011 copyright, even though it did not appear in print until 2012. There was also one book that was printed near the end of 2012 but with a 2013 copyright. Because the language in one of the calls for nominations said that nominated books must be "published" in 2012, the authors each thought their book qualified for consideration. The committee determined that it would review the 2011 publication as an exception this year, but defer the 2013 publication until next year. It further determined that future calls could best avoid this problem by indicating the book must bear the copyright date of the award year. While this would, in the future, eliminate books in that are not printed until the year after the copyright date, we recommend the change to the language of "copyright" rather than "published" as the best way to avoid the ambiguity we encountered this year.