July 19 2013

To: The Board of the Society for the Study of Social Problems

From: The Lee Founders Award Committee, Nancy C. Jurik, Chair

Six individuals were nominated for the 2013Lee Founders Award: M.A. (Peg) Bortner, Kathleen Ferraro, Pierrette Hondagneu-Sotelo, Cecilia Menjivar, Ray Michalowski, Nancy Naples, Ronnie Steinberg. Two of these were nominated by noncommittee members and five were nominees forwarded by last year's committee. One withdrew her/his nomination, leaving 6 nominees for full consideration. The committee members each ranked their top three candidates, and from that vote, Kathleen Ferraro was a clear winner.

Although all nominees were deemed worthy of the award, Kathleen Ferraro's distinguished record of accomplishment (length, breadth, and content) was truly outstanding in terms of scholarship, teaching, community service and long record of significant service to the SSSP. Therefore, Kathleen Ferraro is the recipient of the Lee Founders Award for 2013.

Last year's committee recommended that the names of those nominees who did not win in 2012 be rolled over as nominees for the 2013 award. This year's committee suggests that although each non-recipient is a worthy candidate for the award, next year's committee should begin with no back-log, and new nominees with up-to-date letters of nomination and other relevant materials should be considered (This would not preclude re-nominations from this or any previous year). Although updates were requested for the nominees that were carried over, only one nominator chose to update the file.

The committee also recommends that a detailed letter of nomination be required for any nominee to be considered. This year, one nominator did not prepare a letter of nomination for his/her candidate, and only a vita was submitted. A letter of nomination was requested, but in the future, such a letter with details as to why the nominee should receive the award should be clearly required in our guidelines, not solicited after the fact. The lack of a detailed letter can disadvantage a nominee and place an undue burden on award committee members.

Sincere and best regards,

The Lee Founders Award Committee

Nancy Jurik Chair, Leon Anderson, Chair Elect, Rose Brewer, Melanie Carlson, Heather Dalmage, Arthur Greil, Andrew Le, Erin Ruel, Rebekah M. Zincavage