Memo

To: SSSP Board of Directors

From: Lee Scholar Support Fund Committee Re: 2013 Lee Scholar Support Fund Report

Date: July 15, 2013

The committee included Stephani Williams, Lois Andre-Bechely, and Jon Shefner (Chair). The committee's budget was increased this year to \$6000. Eight persons applied for funding, but only 3 completely were deemed eligible by fulfilling all criteria, which include:

- Applicants must be current SSSP members at the time of application.
- Applicants must be from economically disadvantaged countries who without these funds could not attend the Annual Meeting.
- Preference will be given to applicants who have not received support from the Lee Scholar Support Fund Committee before.
- FOREIGN STUDENTs are not eligible, and were directed to the Lee Student Support Fund.

Committee members exchanged emails regarding the qualifications of the applicants. Although one of the applicants (Agunbaide) had previously received support from this Fund, with the additional funding the committee decided to split the support equally between all three eligible applicants. Each received \$2000. As usual, Michele Koontz was of great aid to the committee.

The 2013 award recipients are:

Ojo Melvin Agunbaide – Nigeria Bayode Papoola – Nigeria Fatime Gunes – Turkey

Submitted by Jon Shefner