To: SSSP Board of Directors and Executive Officer

From: Jennifer K. Wesely, Chair, 2013-2014 SSSP Elections Committee

Re: 2013-2014 Elections Committee Report

Date: July 3, 2014

1. SSSP Elections Committee: Jennifer K. Wesely (Chair), Erin O'Neal (member), Jason Edward Sumerau (member). While an additional committee member name was originally provided (Wilson Palacios), this individual did not respond to a second request to renew his membership. As a result, he did not participate on the committee.

- 2. The 2014 Approved Nomination List was as follows: for President Elect; for Vice-President Elect; for Board of Directors (2 positions); for Student Representative to the Board of Directors; for Budget, Finance, & Audit Committee; for Committee on Committees (2 positions); for Editorial & Publications Committee (2 positions); for Membership & Outreach Committee (2 positions), and for Student Representative to the Membership & Outreach Committee (1 position). Each name on the list was ranked when we received it. In addition, there were two proposed changes to the By-Laws listed to be on the ballot.
- 3. The Process: As Chair, I began by identifying nominees that were listed for more than one position. Once this was determined, I contacted via e-mail each candidate for the higher ranking position first, in the contact order listed. Since this was a complicated process that involved multiple pending e-mails at any given time, I resolved the commitment of these nominees before enlisting assistance of the committee members. For the two positions that contained nominees not listed for additional positions, I assigned one list to each of the committee members. Each member was tasked with contacting nominees in rank order until the correct number of candidates for the position was found. Initially most nominees were contacted by e-mail. The initial e-mail listed the office/committee for which the person was nominated, the length of the term being considered, and a requested response deadline two weeks from that date. If we did not hear from an individual after one reminder e-mail, we followed up with a phone call. All SSSP bylaws and accompanying protocol concerning the election process were followed.

Three nominees declined nominations. In two cases, this was due to a nominee for a student position no longer maintaining a student status as required. In one other case, a nominee declined a nomination because of interest in a different committee.

- 4. The only issue encountered was the difficulty in making contact with one nominee, who had changed positions and email addresses. The candidate eventually responded to phone messages, and the contact information was updated and provided to SSSP.
- 5. Participation in Election Process: The total number of members as of 3/15/14 was 2,135. The total number of eligible to vote electronically was 1,957, with 178 additional members who requested not to vote in elections. The total number of voters this year was 383, with a participation rate of 18%. This represents a 2% decrease from the previous year (@ 20%). In an effort to try to increase voting turnout, staff sent out four e-mail reminders to those who had not voted on February 25, March 7, March 10, and March 14.

- 6. The results of the 2013/14 SSSP election were as follows: President-Elect, 2014/15 David A. Smith; Vice-President Elect, 2014/15 Ronnie J. Steinberg; Secretary, 2014/15 Glenn W. Muschert; Treasurer, 2014/15 Susan M. Carlson; Board of Directors, 2014-2017 Cheryl A. Boudreaux and Keith M. Kilty; Board of Directors: Student Representative, 2014-2016 Kathryn M. Nowotny; Budget, Finance, and Audit Committee, 2014-2017 Stephani Williams; Committee on Committees, 2014-2017 Daina Cheyenne Harvey and Elizabeth Seton Mignacca; Editorial and Publications Committee, 2014-2017 Corey Dolgon and Gregory D. Squires; Membership and Outreach Committee, 2014-2017 Tanya L. Saunders and Marni A. Brown; Membership and Outreach Committee: Student Representative, 2014-2017 Cameron Thomas Whitley. Both By-Laws Amendments were approved.
- 7. Personalized notification letters were sent via e-mail to all candidates on March 18, 2014. The election results were provided to the Board on March 25, 2014, and were posted on the website on March 31, 2014.

Jennifer K. Wesely Chair, 2013-2014 Elections Committee