Erwin O. Smigel Award Committee Report to the SSSP Board Committee Members: William Smith, Chair, James V. Fenelon, Chair-Elect, and Maheen Haider

The Smigel Award will cover a maximum of \$500 for 3 to 4 unemployed and underemployed SSSP members who are attending and presenting at the annual meeting. For the 2015 Smigel Award, the committee received 16 online applications. Of these, 12 applicants did not meet the eligibility requirements (1 was a 2014 student member and 11 were 2015 student members). We are not sure what was the cause of confusion. From the qualified applicants, the committee selected three winners and chose to fund them at the maximum amount of \$500. The 2015 Smigel Award went to Kathleen Asbury, James Itangata, and Leandra Smollin.

There were more applicants this year than there were in the previous year. This is a great improvement. Now the goal should be to make sure that the requirements are totally clear for interested but qualified members/applicants.

If you have any questions or suggestions, please feel free to contact me.

Warmly, William A. Smith, PhD