

Department of Sociology 1501 Patterson Office Tower University of Kentucky Lexington, KY 40506-0027

| TO: | SSSP Board of Directors |
|-------|---|
| FROM: | Claire M. Renzetti, on behalf of the 2015 Joseph B. Gittler Award Committee |
| RE: | Gittler Award Committee Report |
| DATE: | June 1, 2015 |
| | |

Committee members: Claire M. Renzetti, University of Kentucky (Chair); Johanna Foster, Monmouth University; Alexandre Frenette, Arizona State University; Rong Fu, Purdue University; Reza Hasmath, University of Oxford; James N. Maples, Eastern Kentucky University; Rachel Rayburn, Indiana University—Purdue University; Paul D. Steele, Morehead State University

The deadline for nominations was April 15, 2015. Three nominations were received: Bruce A. Arrigo, Georgiann Davis, and the late JoAnn L. Miller. All committee members received the nomination packets to review within one week of the close of nominations and were asked to review the nomination materials and to rank the nominees from highest to lowest in light of the award criteria and qualifications. A conference call was scheduled for May 7, 2015 at 1pm Eastern time.

Two committee members (Fu and Hasmath) could not participate in the conference call, but sent their rankings in advance of the call. One committee member learned just hours before the call that she had to attend a faculty meeting, so she sent her rankings by email. One committee member (Foster) phoned in her rankings, but could not be added to the conference call. The remaining committee members (Renzetti, Frenette, Maples, and Steele) participated in the call, although Renzetti recused herself from the ranking/voting because she had nominated one of the nominees.

The committee agreed that all three nominees were strong contenders for this award, but the rankings were nearly unanimous in terms of naming the award winner: JoAnn Miller received 6 first-place votes and 1 second-place vote; Bruce Arrigo received 1 first-place vote and 6 second-place votes; and Georgiann Davis received 7 third-place votes.

Consequently, the 2015 Joseph B. Gittler Award winner is Dr. JoAnn L. Miller. Dr. Miller died in December, 2014, so the award is being given posthumously. JoAnn's husband, Scott

Frankenberger, will accept the award on her behalf at the 2015 annual meeting. The committee agreed that the award amount would be \$1,500, since the award was not given in 2013 or 2014. The award money will be contributed to a memorial scholarship fund that has been established in the College of Liberal Arts at Purdue University in JoAnn Miller's name.