Dear Board of Directors:

This year's C. Wright Mills Award committee members are Rhacel Parrenas, Leon Anderson, Rodney Coates, Marina Karides, Reza Hasmath, David Embrick, and Victor Rios. It was a pleasure working with the committee in selecting this year's award recipient. There were 94 eligible books nominated for the award, 31 more books than last year's nomination of 63. It was an honor to read so many worthy books. I find this committee to be a lot of work, but extremely rewarding.

With the excellent assistance of Michele Koontz and her staff at the SSSP office, the names and addresses of committee members were confirmed and all agreed to participate on this year's committee. The committee chair followed the procedure set by SSSP. These dates were:

- Deadline for submissions of nominated books: December 15, 2015
- Books assigned to committee members for reading: January 15, 2016
- The Chair must submit a list of finalists to SSSP office: May 1, 2016
- The Chair must notify SSSP of the award winner: July 1, 2016

In addition, the committee used a three-round process adopted by the chair of last year's committee. The process worked well as a format for ranking books and set completion date deadlines were in place:

First wave of reviews: March 15, 2016
Second wave of reviews: April 25, 2016
Third wave of reviews: June 15, 2016

The three-round process aided the committee in reading and ranking books by the assigned deadlines. Using the criteria set for the award by SSSP, the committee reviewed and evaluated books based on the degree to which they met the following:

- critically addresses an issue of contemporary public importance
- brings to the topic a fresh, imaginative perspective
- advances social scientific understanding of the topic
- displays a theoretically informed view and empirical orientation
- evinces quality in style of writing
- explicitly or implicitly contains implications for courses of action.

Consistent with last year's process, the books were rated on a Likert scale of 1-5 where 5 = most likely and 1 = least likely. The committee settled on five finalists for the award:

- Waverly Duck, No Way Out: Precarious Living in the Shadow of Poverty and Drug Dealing, University of Chicago Press
- Patricia Fernandez-Kelly, *The Hero's Fight: African Americans in West Baltimore and the Shadow of the State*, Princeton University Press
- Kelly R. Knight, addicted. pregnant. poor. Duke University Press
- Sharmila Rudrappa, Discounted Life: The Price of Global Surrogacy in India, NYU Press
- Carla Shedd, *Unequal City: Race, Class, and Perceptions of Injustice*, Russell Sage Foundation

The committee reviewed these books and ranked them. In the last round of scores the book receiving the overwhelmingly highest rankings was Carla Shedd's *Unequal City: Race, Class, and Perceptions of Injustice*. The committee agreed on making this book the winner.

Most sincerely,

Victor M. Rios

Chair, 2015-2016 C. Wright Mills Award Committee