

Lexington, KY 40506-0027

TO: SSSP Board of Directors

FROM: Claire M. Renzetti, Chair, Doris Wilkinson Faculty Leadership Award

Committee

RE: Committee Report

DATE: June 24, 2016

The 2016 Doris Wilkinson Faculty Leadership Award Committee members were: Ray Michalowski, Barbara Katz Rothman, and myself (as chair). The Committee was joined in our deliberations by Dr. Marlese Durr, SSSP Past-President.

In response to the call for nominations, the Committee received two nominations: Dr. Shirley Jackson and Dr. Barbara Katz Rothman. Dr. Rothman declined the nomination. The nomination of Dr. Jackson was very strong and the Committee unanimously agreed to select her for the award.

This is the first time the Doris Wilkinson Faculty Leadership Award will be given, so SSSP members are still fairly unfamiliar with it. This unfamiliarity likely contributed to the small number of nominations. The Committee recommends that future committees take a proactive role in publicizing for the award and soliciting nominations for it.

On behalf of the Committee, I thank you for your time and consideration.