To: SSSP Board of DirectorsFrom: James V. Fenelon, Chair, 2015-16 Erwin O. Smigel Award CommitteeDate: July 20, 2016Re: 2015-16 Annual Report of the Erwin O. Smigel Award Committee

There were 14 online applications. Of those, 10 applicants did not meet the eligibility requirements. Among those not eligible, 2 were 2015 student members, 4 were 2016 student members, 2 were 2015 unemployed members, and 2 were not SSSP members (1 of these not on the program).

The committee had \$1,500 to allocate, with \$500 maximum award. With 4 fully eligible applicants and relative equity with some diversity between them, the committee decided to split the award amounts equally between the eligible applicants.

We went with the proposed \$375.00 to each of these four applicants:

Asbury	Kathleen		
Greene	Dana M.		
Itang'ata	Mukaria		
Sapinski	Jean Philippe		

We need to thank the other committee members (Nancy Jurik, Giovanna Follo) and Michele Smith Koontz, SSSP Administrative Officer & Meeting Manager for her excellent management, for providing all information needed in a timely manner, and for guidance and resolution.

James V. Fenelon, Erwin O. Smigel Award Committee Chair

Note: Am attaching the fuller file of the successful applicants

Erwin O. Smigel Award Results: 03/15/2016 - Decisions: 3/31/16 - \$375.00) x 4
---	-------

2	2016: Paid \$30	yes-1	yes-	Asbury	Kathleen	82	17 Rowland Ave	Philadelphia		
	Unemployed	paper	\$500							
	Category	present								
6	2016: Paid \$30	yes-2	no	Greene	Dana M.	1420 Big Leaf Loop				
	Unemployed	paper								
	Dues Category	present								
7	2016: Paid \$30	yes-2	yes-	Itang'ata	Mukaria	8419 Standish Bend Drive			8419 Standish Bend Drive	
	Unemployed	paper	\$500							
	Dues Category	present								
1	2016: Paid \$45	yes-1	no	Sapinski	Jean Philip	ре	Dept. of Sociology, 1291University of Oregon			
0	First Time	paper								
	Professional Dues	present								