To: SSSP 2015-2016 Board of Directors

From: Bhoomi K. Thakore

Re: 2016 Joseph B. Gittler Award Committee

## Summary of Activities:

Nominations for the 2016 Joseph B. Gittler Award were due on April 15, 2016. The committee received nominations for 2 individuals; however, 1 individual was removed from consideration because they did not meet the membership requirements.

The Committee voted to grant the award to Dr. Bruce A. Arrigo, Professor, Department of Criminal Justice and Criminology, University of North Carolina at Charlotte. As stated in the accompanying nomination letter, "As an internationally acclaimed scholar and active member of SSSP since 1998, Dr. Arrigo has produced a prolific body of work aimed at providing ethical solutions to some of the most pervasive contemporary social problems. Through his research, service, teaching, and mentoring, he has advanced the cause of ethical activism in ways that meaningfully respond to social injustices."

I would like to thank the members of the Committee for their service:

- Kathleen A. Asbury, Community College of Philadelphia
- Tyrone A. Forman, University of Illinois-Chicago
- Danielle Antoinette Hidalgo, California State University-Chico
- Damaso Allen Hodges, Dominican University
- Michael Johnston, William Penn University
- Keith M. Kilty, The Ohio State University
- Rebekah M. Zincavage, Brandeis University

Sincerely,

Bhoomi K. Thakore, Elmhurst College

Chair, 2016 Joseph B. Gittler Award Committee