To: SSSP Board of Directors

From: Ricardo A. Dello Buono, Chair, 2015-16 Lee Scholar Support Fund Committee

Date: July 20, 2016

Re: 2015-16 Annual Report of the Lee Scholar Support Fund Committee

In contrast to last year where only 2 online applications were received (only one valid), this year's committee received 14 online applications for the Lee Scholar Support Fund of which five applicants did not meet the eligibility requirements [1 unemployed member, 2 student members, and 2 non-members]. From among the nine valid applications, five were selected for awards.

Rather than fully fund any of the valid applications, we decided upon deliberation to divide up the travel funds evenly (\$1200. each) among the five finalists:

De La Barra	Ximena	Chile
Figueroa	Silvana	Mexico
Gunes	Fatime	Turkey
Omengala	Arikelola	Nigeria
Veloso	Diana T.M.	The Philippines

Consistent with past precedent, we further stipulated that if any applicant (or applicants) following notification of their award were to indicate that for any reason (other than visa issues) they were no longer able to participate, the freed up funds were to be evenly divided up and awarded to the remaining awardees.

The awardee from Nigeria subsequently indicated that due to family reasons, he would be unable to participate in the annual meeting and so those funds (\$300 each) were redistributed to the remaining four awardees.

In addition, travel funds awarded last year to two Cuban scholars were carried over to this year as per established practice since their visa applications, while ultimately approved, were delayed until after the Chicago meeting. Unfortunately, their visas were only valid for six months and so both scholars needed to pay the \$160. visa fee again in order to participate in the Seattle meeting.

The chair wishes to express some concern over the high cost of wiring funds to awardees (\$50. per wire) and encourages the administrative office to investigate alternative transfer providers or mechanisms.

The chair also wishes to thank Michael C. Adorjan (Chair-Elect) and Kathleen A. Asbury for their service on this year's committee.

Mindful of the tight schedule for annual Board meetings, I trust this report is self-explanatory and will appear at the Board meeting only upon request.