To: SSSP Board of Directors

From: Val Leiter, Chair, Joseph B. Gittler Award Committee

Re: Annual Report of the Committee

Date: July 17, 2017

The Joseph B. Gittler Award Committee received one nomination this year, for Rogelio Sáentz, Professor and Dean at The University of Texas, San Antonio. This nomination, submitted by David Embrick, was incredibly organized, including an extensive cover letter, additional letters of support, and Dr. Sáentz's CV.

In advance of the deadline, I did attempt to drum up nominations, but was not successful in convincing people to submit materials. In the end, this was not a problem, as Dr. Sáentz was incredibly qualified for the award and the package that was submitted on his behalf was compelling. The award committee was unanimous in their support for granting it to Dr. Sáentz.