

MEMORANDUM

To: President Donileen Loseke and the SSSP Board of Directors

From: Kathleen S. Lowney, Chair

Lee Founders Award Committee

Re: 2017 Report

Date: June 25, 2017

The members of the committee this year were: Elroi J. Windsor; Jerome Krase; John D. Foster; Michael Johnston; Rebecca Wiersma; Rebekah M. Zincavage, and myself. I contacted the committee in mid-October, 2016 to introduce myself and propose how we might go about our work. We decided at that time that each person would rate all the candidates separately, send their ranking to me, and then I would compile the data. Then I shared that with all members and we worked through differences via email. We did not feel there were serious enough differences to need a phone conversation. All members were wonderful, completing their work in advance of deadlines.

We received three nominations from the SSSP membership:

- 1) Dr. Corey Dolgon (2nd nomination)
- 2) Dr. Joachim J. Savelsberg
- 3) Dr. Dorothy E. Smith

All the nominations had the appropriate supporting documentation and all three were thoroughly read by the committee. Members ranked each application using a rating scale, and ultimately ranked each candidate as Ist, 2nd, or 3rd choice. Six of the seven of us initially picked the same person for Ist place. One member had the person ranked #I by most as #2. When I announced the initial rankings, we had about 2 rounds of communication and that person joined us in making the decision unanimous.

I am pleased to share that we believe Dr. Dorothy E. Smith should be the unanimous winner of the 2017 Lee Founders Award.

On behalf of all of us, thank you for allowing us to serve the Society.