

Department of Criminology & Criminal Justice

To: Board of Directors

From: Raymond Michalowski

Date: July 23, 2018

RE: Arlene Kaplan Daniels Paper Award Committee Report

The members of the 2017-2018 Arlene Kaplan Daniels Paper Award Committee were: Ebonie L. Cunningham Stringer, Peter Ibarra, Philip R. Kavanaugh, Rebecca Wiersma, Jennifer Zoltanski, and Raymond Michalowski, Chair.

The committee received 8 nominations for the award. Committee members were asked to carefully review each submission, and to then submit a rank ordering of the papers from the best fit with the award criteria (1) to the weakest fit with the criteria (8).

Based on the composite of the individual rankings, "Making a Career: Reproducing Gender within a Predominately Female Profession" by LaTonya Trotter was selected as this year's recipient of the Arlene Kaplan Daniels Paper Award.