BERKELEY • DAVIS • IRVINE • LOS ANGELES • MERCED • RIVERSIDE • SAN DIEGO • SAN FRANCISCO



SANTA BARBARA • SANTA CRUZ

DEPARTMENT OF SOCIOLOGY

April 29, 2018

Dear SSSP Board of Directors,

This year's C. Wright Mills Book Award Committee Members were Rodney Coates, Robert Duran, Peter Ibarra, George Lipsitz, Phoebe Morgan, Lois Presser, and Carla Shedd. This year we had a total of 102 books to consider, an increase from last year's 95 eligible nominees. The committee members worked collegially and collaboratively, shouldered responsibilities willingly, paid close attention to potential conflicts of interests, and submitted scores in a timely fashion.

With the extraordinarily efficient and courteous assistance of Michele Koontz and her staff at the SSSP office, the names and addresses of committee members were confirmed, and all agreed to participate in this year's deliberations. The committee chair followed the procedure set by SSSP and previous chairs of this committee in the following manner:

- *Deadline for submission of nominated books December 15, 2017
- *Books assigned to committee members for reading January 15, 2018
- *List of Finalists submitted to SSSP office by May 1, 2018
- *Notification of the award winner by July 1, 2018

Committee members received copies of the nominated books. The chair compiled a list of all eligible nominated books and checked with the committee to make sure they had been received. The chair assigned readings to each committee member in a way that made the work load as even as possible. Each book had three readers and was rated on a 1-5 scale (5 excellent; 4 strong; 3 good; 2 marginal; 1 unlikely). Each book was rated according to how it fit the six criteria for the award:

- 1. Critically addresses an issue of contemporary public importance
- 2. Brings to the topic a fresh, imaginative perspective
- 3. Advances solid scientific understanding of the topic
- 4. Displays a theoretically informed view and empirical orientation
- 5. Evinces quality in style of writing
- 6. Explicitly or implicitly contains implications for courses of action

The first wave of reviews was completed by March 13, 2018. The Chair compiled a list of the rankings in hierarchical order from highest to lowest ranked. The top eleven books then moved to the next round. We selected eleven instead of the usual ten because of a tie for tenth place. These books were read by all members of the committee and ranked using the same 1-5 scale used previously. The second wave of reviews was completed by April 24, 2018. The top five entries were designated as finalists. They were

- 1. Armada Armenta Protect, Serve, and Deport
- 2. Claudia Cervantes-Soon, Juárez Girls Rising
- 3. John Eason, Big House on the Prairie
- 4. Thomas Shapiro, Toxic Inequality
- 5. Miranda Waggoner, The Zero Trimester

In the second round, the book clearly receiving the highest score was *Juárez Girls Rising* by Claudia Cervantes-Soon. The committee agreed to designate this book as the winner.

Recommendation

In January we worked with Hector Delgado to respond to the concerns raised by Hector Carrillo whose book had a 2017 copyright date but was not released until 2018. To accommodate the loophole that made this unusual case emerge, we decided to change the announcement and criteria to read "Eligible books must be first edition (not a reprint or a later edition) and bear a 2018 copyright date. Exceptions may be made for books bearing a 2017 copyright but that were not released until 2018 for the first time."

The rewards of reading and owning excellent new books make this an attractive committee on which to serve. Yet the workload is considerable. In recognition of the time commitments that reviewers make, I recommend that the SSSP continue its practice of sending a formal letter of recognition and thanks to each committee member, and send copies to their appropriate administrators such as department chairs, deans, and provosts. This recognition has symbolic and in some cases material significance. I am grateful to the board for allowing me to serve on this committee: last year as a member, and this year as chair. In these difficult times, it is a joy to see that so much good work is being done by our professional colleagues.

Sincerely,

George Lipsity

Professor of Sociology and Black Studies