July 30, 2018

To: The Society for the Study of Social Problems (SSSP) Board of Directors From: Dr. Ruth Thompson-Miller (Chair) Subject: 2018 Doris Wilkinson Faculty Leadership Committee Report

Committee Members: Leslie R. Hinkson, Georgetown University; Elroi J. Winder, Salem College; and Amani Awwad, SUNY Canton.

The deadline for the nominations for the Doris Wilkinson Faculty Leadership Award was April 15, 2018. We received one nomination Dr. Cheryl Townsend Gilkes. However, the nominee was ineligible based on the guidelines for the award—she was a member in 2007 and not a current member.

The committee chair in conversation with Héctor Delgado and Luis A. Fernandez decided to extend the deadline until May 1st to secure other nominees. In addition, to seek more nominees the chair forwarded an email to the Association of Black Sociologist listserv to advertise the Doris Wilkinson Award. The committee received three nominees and the committee members unanimously agreed to name Dr. Heather Dalmage the SSSP 2018 Doris Wilkinson Faculty Leadership Award.

The committee believed this is a well-deserved honor because, like Dr. Wilkinson, Dr. Dalmage is a pioneer in the truest sense of the word. Her sociological training focuses on social action that has made our world a better place as well as making contributions that have significantly impacted the lives of many people. Her commitment to community action plus her many publications and academic honors combined lead us to the conclusion that Dr. Dalmage is a perfect choice for the 2018 Doris Wilkinson Faculty Leadership Award.

The committee does have recommendations for the Doris Wilkinson Faculty Leadership Award future committee which includes expanding the call for nominees on listservs outside of SSSP; offering the option for SSSP members to self-nominate; and identifying possible SSSP members and reaching out to recommend that they apply for the award.

In addition, the nonparticipation of committee members needs to have a procedural process to address lack of compliance. For example, I didn't receive any responses from Amani Awwad at SUNY Canton, I think that SSSP needs to have a procedure in place to ensure that committee members that don't participate aren't given credit for being on the committee.

Lastly, I would like to thank the members of the committee and especially Michele Smith Koontz whose administrative assistance was immense in securing a candidate for the award. The committee and Michele were essential in the process of identifying a winner for the 2018 Doris Wilkinson Faculty Leadership Award.

Most sincerely,

Dr. Ruth Thompson-Miller Chair, Doris Wilkinson Faculty Leadership Award Committee