Erwin O. Smigel Travel Awards Committee Report 2017-2018

The Erwin O. Smigel Travel Awards were established in 1975 to provide assistance to unemployed and underemployed sociologists. According to SSSP by-laws, applicants for Smigel travel awards must be sociologists with an advanced degree who are not full-time students and who are not fully employed (list of criteria below). The committee had \$1,500 to allocate with \$500 as the maximum amount that can be granted to any one recipient. The 2017-18 Erwin O. Smigel Travel Awards Committee application deadline was midnight (EDT), March 15, 2018. Committee members for this year, were Julie A. Mikles-Schluterman, Chair, Glenn W. Muschert, Chair-Elect, and Yan Shan.

These were the Smigel Award guidelines: 1) The Smigel Award monies are to be used to help pay for three or four unemployed or severely underemployed sociologists' transportation to and registration fees for the SSSP meeting; 2) Applicants must be current SSSP members who are presenting a paper at the main SSSP meeting (rather than at an adjacent workshop or meeting) or participating as a SSSP elected or appointed officer or committee member; 3) A maximum of \$500 dollars is to be granted to any one recipient. Persons unable to attend the meetings MUST return all monies to SSSP.

The Committee received eight online applications for the Smigel Award. Of these eight, three applicants did not meet the eligibility requirements [they were not members at time of application]. Therefore, the committee decided to delete those three applicants [i.e., Harris, Niroula, and Szetela], and to consider only the remaining five applicants for funding [Asbury, Montes, Nica, Phan, and Tartari]. In other words, the Committee did not award any amount to applicants who were not on the program or had not paid current SSSP dues.

Michele Koontz provided the Committee with a spreadsheet of the applications that included information about each applicant. A copy of this spreadsheet is attached. The committee decided to make awards to the five applicants who were eligible for funding. In determining the amount awarded to each of the five recipients, the committee decided to divide the monies evenly. We advised Michele Koontz of our decision in late March and she contacted applicants and recipients to inform them of the Committee decisions. In summary, the committee made the following awards: Kathleen A. Asbury received \$300; Vince Montes received \$300; Andreea Nica received \$300; Janelle Pham received \$300; and Morena Tartari received \$300. I would like to thank the Smigel Committee members—Glenn W. Muschert, Chair-Elect, and Yan Shan--and Michele Koontz for their work on these awards decisions.

Respectfully submitted,

Julie Mikles-Schluterman, PhD Director, Center for Community Engagement and Academic Outreach Associate Professor of Sociology Behavioral Sciences Department Arkansas Tech University Russellville, AR 72801