## **Lee Founders Award Committee Report to SSSP Board of Directors**

May 23, 2018

Dear Board of Directors and SSSP Executive Office Staff,

The 2018 Lee Founders Award Committee was comprised of seven members: Elroi J. Windsor (Chair), E. Brooke Kelly (Incoming Chair), Kathleen A. Asbury, Elliott Currie, Heather Dalmage, Keith M. Kilty, and Ruth Thompson-Miller. Two SSSP members were nominated for the award and the Committee selected Dr. Raymond Michalowski as this year's award recipient.

I wish to bring two considerations to the Board that arose during our deliberations:

- 1. Regarding this specific award, our committee had a little trouble deciding whether nominees met the "substantial community service" expectation. We'd like to find a way to make this expectation clearer in the call, but not so much as to undermine this year's winner.
- 2. Next, we'd like to try to cast a wider net to attract more nominees in the future. One suggestion was to make greater use of social media. Another was to ask the winner to give a brief but highly visible talk at the meetings. This suggestion was to have the talk reference "lessons from a career" to highlight their accomplishments and to raise the visibility of the award.

Respectfully submitted,

Elroi J. Windsor, Ph.D.

Chair, Lee Founders Award Committee

(On behalf of the 2017-2018 Committee: E. Brooke Kelly, Kathleen A.

Asbury, Elliott Currie, Heather Dalmage, Keith M. Kilty, and Ruth

Thompson-Miller)