To: SSSP Board Members

From: Sarah Jane Brubaker, Chair

**Date:** July 12, 2019

## Report from the Ad Hoc Anti-Harassment Committee

The ad-hoc committee, appointed by Héctor Delgado, Executive Officer, on May 26, 2018, met once virtually in June 2018 and then again at the SSSP meeting in August 2018. The committee presented several specific recommendations to the Board of Directors at its August 2018 meeting that were discussed, and some were revised as friendly amendments. The following tasks/goals were approved:

- 1. The Ad Hoc Committee would continue as constituted for another year.
- 2. The Society would establish a permanent Anti-Harassment Committee beginning 2020 composed of 6 members. Three members will be elected by the membership and three members will be appointed by the President, one of whom is a member of the Board of Directors and will chair the committee. Members will serve staggered terms. The Executive Officer will serve as a non-voting, ex-officio member.
- 3. The committee will review SSSP's and other organizations' anti-harassment policies and recommend changes as necessary.
- 4. The committee will recommend to the Board mechanisms for reporting, investigating, and resolving alleged violations of the anti-harassment policy.
- 5. The committee will recommend to the Board mechanisms for providing support and assistance to those reporting the violations, and ensuring due process for those accused. The committee may seek external expertise and guidance.
- 6. The committee may recommend that the Board take action against members who are accused of violating the anti-harassment policy that may include being prevented from participating in or attending the conference, serving in elected or appointed SSSP positions, or revoking membership, until the mediation is concluded.
- 7. The committee will consider other responses to those found in violation of the anti-harassment policy, such as revoking membership.
- 8. The Board approved that the committee will make recommendations to the Budget, Finance, and Audit (BFA) Committee for funding support for the ad-hoc committee's recommendations.

The committee has accomplished the following tasks since the August 2018 meeting:

1. We expanded and revised the SSSP anti-harassment policy based on a review of several other organizations' policies and relevant literature on best practices. The policy was submitted to the Board for approval on March 19, 2019.

- 2. The new policy was approved by the Board of Directors on March 27, 2019 and posted on the website as well as included in program materials.
- 3. We submitted a budget request to the BFA Committee to compensate external experts as needed to respond to formal reports. The BFA Committee did not approve a specific amount but has agreed to cover any costs consistent with the policy.
- 4. We identified an external consultant and ombudsperson who will serve in those roles should we receive any formal reports. We also plan to expand the pool of experts available to serve in these roles through a broader and more formal call for proposals. We hope to do this in the Fall after the annual meeting.
- 5. We have requested meeting space after the 2020 annual meeting for a full day workshop addressing anti-harassment prevention and are in the process of planning and organizing the content.
- 6. A permanent anti-harassment committee has been constituted as stipulated in the bylaws:

CHAIR: Sarah Jane Brubaker (2019-2022)

- 1. Wendy Simonds (2019-2022)
- 2. Adriana Leela Bohm (2019-2021)
- 3. Claire M. Renzetti (2019-2021)
- 4. David G. Embrick (2019-2020)
- 5. Elroi J. Windsor (2019-2020)
- 6. Héctor L. Delgado (Non-Voting, Ex-Officio Member, 2019-2020)

I would like to thank Héctor and the Board for establishing the ad-hoc committee, and to thank all the members of the committee for their diligent and thoughtful work on this important topic, which we all view as critical to the mission of SSSP.

Respectfully Submitted,

MBah

Sarah Jane Brubaker, Chair, (on behalf of Adriana Leela Bohm, David G. Embrick, Claire M. Renzetti, Wendy Simonds, Elroi J. Windsor, and Héctor L. Delgado)