

Dr. Elroi J. Windsor (678) 839-6333 ewindsor@westga.edu

To: The Society for the Study of Social Problems Board of Directors
From: Elroi J. Windsor, Chair, 2019 Doris Wilkinson Faculty Leadership Committee
Date: June 17, 2019
Re: 2019 Doris Wilkinson Faculty Leadership Committee Report

The members of the 2018-2019 Doris Wilkinson Faculty Leadership Committee included four people: Elroi J. Windsor (Chair), Shirley A. Jackson (Chair-Elect), Dana Greene, and Michael O. Johnston. All committee members actively participated in the award process.

Per the recommendation from last year's committee report, the committee chair forwarded the call for nominations to additional sources, including the listservs for the Sociologists for Women in Society and three sections of the American Sociological Association to which the Chair belonged.

The committee received three nominations. One nomination was received last year, two of the three nominations were self-nominations, and one nomination did not meet the award criterion of being a current member of SSSP when applying. The chair provided the committee with a scoresheet to aid rankings based on the four criteria of the award: 1) addresses social issues of contemporary public importance, 2) brings a deepened public understanding to these issues, 3) advances social understanding of leadership for change within the larger society, and 4) proposes courses of action to effect that change. The committee unanimously scored Dr. Valerie Jenness the highest, and she was selected at the 2019 award recipient.

Yours,

In Ma

Elroi J. Windsor, Ph.D.

Chair, 2019 Doris Wilkinson Faculty Leadership Committee Associate Professor and Chair, Department of Sociology, University of West Georgia