To: Board of Directors, The Society for the Study of Social Problems (SSSP)

From: Paul D. Steele

Re: 2020 Joseph B. Gittler Award Committee Report

June 28, 2020

The deadline for nominations for the 2020 Joseph B. Gittler Award was April 15, 2020. We received one nomination, that being for Anthony Peguero, Associate Professor at Virginia Tech. Dr. Peguero has been a member of the Society since 2002, meeting the Award's criterion for length of active membership. He was nominated by David Embrick, and supporting letters were provided by Carson Byrd, Reuben Miller, Watoii Rabii, and Hephzibah Strmic-Pawl. Dr. Peguero's CV was also provided for review by Dr. Embrick.

The nominating letter from Dr. Embrick was quite detailed and laudatory, pointing out Dr. Peguero's active and lengthy service to the Society, his scholarly productivity, and mentorship of young scholars. Dr. Embrick points out that "Dr. Peguero's scholarship exemplifies his commitment to scholar activism. Indeed, his publication record speaks to not only great research, but to a commitment to better understanding how we might bring about real change.... But, Dr. Peguero's scholarship is not only well-regarded in the academic community, but speaks to social problems and social injustices regarding school violence and its implications. Indeed, much of his scholarship is committed to understanding the how and why, but also what can we do moving forward—i.e., the implications of his research." Others who provided support enthusiastically echoed these sentiments.

Nominating materials were shared with members of the committee who were polled concerning their support for Dr. Peguero. The committee voted unanimously (with one non-response) to grant the Award to Dr. Peguero. The Award letter sent to Dr. Peguero stated "Our committee agreed on your selection based on not just the quality and volume of your research concerning youth violence, school safety, immigration and how to mitigate these concerns but also on your efforts to engage society in understanding and addressing social injustice. Your track record of student teaching, mentoring, and scholarly collaboration all reflect your desire to encourage others to make a difference and promote the kinds of substantive positive change that will be of benefit to many. We strongly value your dedication to the organization, shown through your efforts to bring students, faculty, and independent scholars to SSSP's doors. All of these things, plus your many academic honors and commitment to scholar activism are exemplary and lead us to the conclusion that you are our overwhelming choice for the 2020 award."

I would like to thank the members of the Committee for their service: Giovani Burgos (Adelphi University) Gabriel Chiu (Stanford University) Keith M. Kilty (Ohio State University) Jessica Welburn Paige (University of Iowa) Morgan R. Purrier (University of Michigan)

Best regards to all,

Paul D. Steele Native American Children's Alliance National Center for Adoption and Permanency