Society for the Study of Social Problems

Doris Wilkinson Faculty Leadership Award Committee Report

Beth Williford Chair, 2020-2021

June 23, 2021

Committee members: Margaret Kelley, David Embrick, Mary Ann Kanieski, Beth Williford

We received one inquiry about whether a graduate student who taught classes could be considered for this award. We checked in with the Executive Office to confirm that this award was intended for professors.

We received four letters, one of which was co-signed by 4 other SSSP members, all in support of the same nominee, Dr. Marlese Durr. The letters spoke movingly and in detail about how Dr Durr's work has left an impact on the discipline, SSSP, and her colleagues. As a committee we unanimously supported Dr Durr's nomination for this award.

We will not be holding an August meeting.