To: SSSP Board of Directors and Executive Officer

From: Robert Durán, Chair, 2020-21 Elections Committee

RE: 2021 Elections Committee Report

Date: July 15, 2021

- 1. 2021 Elections Committee: Robert Durán (Chair), Felicia Arriaga (Member), Jennifer Mueller (Member), and Ranita Ray (Member).
- 2. The 2021 approved nominations list was as follows (one position unless otherwise noted): President-Elect; Vice President-Elect; Board of Directors (3 positions); Board of Directors-Student Representative; Anti-Harassment Committee; Budget, Finance, & Audit Committee; Committee on Committees (2 positions); Editorial & Publications Committee (2 positions); Membership & Outreach Committee Student Representative.
- 3. The Process: SSSP Administrative Officer and Meeting Manager Michele Koontz identified nominees who were listed for more than one position and sent those names along with the full list and description of the election committee process to Robert Durán. For those nominees who had been nominated for more than one position, the nominated individual was contacted about the higher-ranking position first to verify if they would be willing to serve. All nominees were initially contacted by email on September 13, 2021, and September 14, 2021. The message consisted of the following (with a few slight variation):

Time Sensitive – SSSP Nomination (subject heading)

Dear [nominee],

It is my pleasure as Chair of the SSSP Elections Committee to write to inform you that you have been nominated to run for the office of [insert office and term dates]. You may wish to consult the SSSP By- Laws and Operations Manual to review the duties of this position:

 $\frac{https://www.sssp1.org/index.cfm/m/29/locationSectionId/0/By-Laws}{https://www.sssp1.org/index.cfm/m/30/Operations\_Manual/%20The%20Elections%20Committee}$ 

The Elections Committee must fill the election slate by mid-October. Accordingly, I ask that you respond to this email by September 24, 2020, indicating your willingness to stand for election to this office. Congratulations on your nomination! I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Paz

Robert

When I did not receive a response near the deadline, I followed up with a second email. I received a response from all nominees before attempting a phone call. The 2021 Candidates List (indicating willingness to serve) was sent to Michele Koontz on September 25, 2021.

- 4. All but two nominees agreed to run for the position nominated. A list of three alternatives nominees were provided by Nominations Committee Chair for Board of Directors and one individual for Committee of Committees. Emails were submitted individually until receiving acceptance.
- 5. Participation in the Election Process: Electronic ballots were sent to the 1,500 SSSP members eligible and willing to vote in the election, and 397 members voted. This was a participation rate of about 27% which was a higher participation rate than the previous four years. E-mail reminders were sent to those who had not voted on February 22, March 1, March 8, March 14, and March 15.
- 6. Election Results: The results of the 2021 election were as follows:

President-Elect (2021-2022); President (2022-2023): Shirley A. Jackson

Vice-President-Elect (2021-2022); Vice-President (2022-2023): Stephani Williams

Secretary (2021-2022): Glenn W. Muschert

Treasurer (2021-2022): Susan M. Carlson

Board of Directors (2021-2024): Kristen M. Budd, Ebonie L. Cunningham Stringer, and David G. Embrick

Board of Directors: Student Representative (2021-2023): Shaontá Allen

Anti-Harassment Committee (2021-2024): Meghna Bhat

Budget, Finance, and Audit Committee (2021-2024): Nancy J. Mezey

Committee on Committees (2021-2024): Loretta Bass and Jean-Pierre Reed

Editorial and Publications Committee (2021-2024): Yvonne A. Braun and Claire Renzetti

Membership and Outreach Committee (2021-2024): Andrea D. Miller and Morena Tartari Membership and Outreach Committee: Student Representative (2021-2024): Greer Ayanna

Hamilton

Proposed By-Laws Amendment: Article VI, Section 31: Approved

- 7. Michele Koontz, Administrative Officer and Meeting Manager, sent personalized notification letters to all candidates via email on March 16, 2021. The results were posted on the SSSP website on March 29, 2021.
- 8. Recommendations of the Committee:

An appreciation of gratitude to Michele Koontz who guided the chair in the process of carrying out these responsibilities. She was very responsive by email and phone and answered all questions thoroughly. Thank you!

Respectfully submitted,

Robert J. Durán, Ph.D. Chair, 2020-2021 Elections Committee