Dear SSSP Board of Directors:

The Kathleen S. Lowney Mentoring Award Committee addressed two items of business.

Item #1: Selecting the Award Winner:

I distributed all the nomination materials for the Kathleen S. Lowney Mentoring Award to the committee members—Deborah Lynn Little, Laurie Linhart, and Rita Shah—and subsequently received all their votes. There were six nominations for five worthy nominees for this year's award. Votes revealed two closely matched top nominees. Following additional consideration, the committee determined both nominees truly were equally qualified for the Award and I confirmed with the SSSP Office that two winners could be recognized. The committee selected as co-recipients Heather Dillaway and Gloria González-López.

Selecting co-winners required a slight modification of the usual prize by the SSSP Office. Because splitting the stipulated prize equally would be hard to do (i.e., three of the award recipient's mentees receive a one-year SSSP membership as well as annual meeting registration fees for the year the award is presented), each co-winner will instead receive two complimentary student memberships and two complimentary student registrations.

Item #2: Making a Recommendation to the SSSP Board:

A question arose while the nominations were open this year as to whether nominees for this award must be current members of SSSP. Although one could argue membership is implicit, it is not stated as a criterion. Thus, we were advised by the SSSP Office to consider non-member nominees this year, and to discuss, as a committee, whether we feel that SSSP membership should be a criterion for future years and include our thoughts in the award report to the Board of Directors. (The SSSP Office noted that two nominees this year were not members.)

Our committee was evenly split on this question. On the one hand, organizations often limit award recipients to current members and several SSSP awards do explicitly require membership. On the other hand, this may be an award where SSSP members may want to recognize someone who mentored them and other members. Taking that option would allow the organization to support those who are doing the work of SSSP and who qualify for the award but who, for a variety of reasons, are not a member, particularly given that the nominator may not otherwise be doing the type of work SSSP supports without such mentorship.

The committee recommends that the Board consider this question and make the requirements explicit in the award nomination guidelines going forward. We send this question back to the Board for action.

Deborah Lynn Little is the Kathleen S. Lowney Mentoring Award Committee Chair-Elect and will serve as Chair for next year's committee. It was an honor to serve as chair of this important committee.

Best, Kathy Stolley Chair, 2021 Kathleen S. Lowney Mentoring Award Committee