2021 APPROVED RESOLUTION THE SOCIETY FOR THE STUDY OF SOCIAL PROBLEMS

Compiled by Héctor L. Delgado, SSSP Executive Officer

1. "Expression of Gratitude"

Submitted by: SSSP Administrative Office

RESOLUTION 1: Expression of Gratitude

Submitted by: SSSP Administrative Office

We wish to express our sincerest appreciation to all of the officers, committee chairs, staff, and members who have made this virtual program possible, and whose efforts help maintain the vitality of the Society for the Study of Social Problems (SSSP). First, we thank President Corey Dolgon for his excellent leadership in organizing the 71st Virtual Annual Meeting: *Revolutionary Sociology: Truth, Healing, Reparations and Restructuring*, and also in navigating unchartered waters as we moved from an in-person meeting to a full virtual meeting because of the COVID-19 pandemic. We also thank this year's Program Committee members -- Michelle Christian, Saida Grundy, Kasey Henricks, Andrea D. Miller, and Raul Perez -- and especially the Program Committee Co-Chairs, Woody Doane and Saher Selod, for putting together an outstanding program. We wish to express our gratitude as well to the Local Arrangements Committee Co-Chairs, Steven H. Corey and David G. Embrick, and their committee, Kathryn Albrecht, Sharon M. Collins, Meghan Daniel, Lara Janson, and Cristian L. Paredes. Our thanks as well to the Swissôtel Chicago Hotel for working with us up to our cancellation and for handling the cancellation in such a professional manner.

The Society wishes to express its gratitude to Past President Heather M. Dalmage for her years of leadership; Executive Officer Héctor L. Delgado for managing the resolutions process; Glenn W. Muschert for his service as Secretary; and Susan M. Carlson for her service as Treasurer.

The Society also thanks Noreen M. Sugrue, President-Elect; Pamela Anne Quiroz, Vice-President (outgoing); Sarah Jane Brubaker, Vice-President-Elect; Board of Directors: Giovanna Follo, Bhoomi K. Thakore, Lauren E. Eastwood, Shirley A. Jackson, outgoing members Yvonne A. Braun, Matthew W. Hughey, Debbie A. Potter, student representatives of the Board Melissa R. Maxey (outgoing) and Lydia Hou, Kristen M. Budd, outgoing Chairperson of the Council of the Divisions; Annulla Linders and Earl Wright II, Co-Editors of *Social Problems*; David J. Luke, Budget, Finance, and Audit Committee Chair and committee members Susan M. Carlson, Stephani Williams (outgoing), and Becky Pettit; A. Javier Treviño, outgoing Editorial and Publications Committee Chair and committee members Rogelio Saenz (outgoing), David G. Embrick, Paul Joosse, Louis Edgar Esparza, Jean-Pierre Reed, David J. Luke, Pamela Anne Quiroz (outgoing), Annulla Linders, and Earl Wright II; and the University of Tennessee and the Department of Sociology for hosting the SSSP Administrative Office. A special thanks to our

sponsors for their financial contributions to program activities: Association for Humanist Sociology; Bristol University Press | Home of Policy Press; *Critical Sociology*; Oxford University Press; and Stonehill College, Tom & Donna May School of Arts & Sciences.

Finally, the Society wishes to thank Executive Officer Héctor L. Delgado, Administrative Officer & Meeting Manager Michele Smith Koontz, Assistant to the Administrative Officer Kelsey Whitaker, Information Technology Specialist Rachel Cogburn, Graduate Research Associate & Webmaster Zaina Shams and the leaders of the 23 Divisions for their work on behalf of the SSSP and its members.