Institutional Ethnography (IE) SSSP Business Meeting July 31, 2021

75-minute meeting began at 11 AM Eastern

Attendance

- 1. LaNysha Adams
- 2. Sue Sherifali
- 3. Frank Ridzi
- 4. Catherine Jenkins
- 5. Marj DeVault
- 6. Janet Rankin
- 7. Paul Luken
- 8. Eric Mykhalovskiy
- 9. Katie Koralesky
- 10. Kate Hardin
- 11. Jim xx
- 12. Frank Wang
- 13. Colin Hastings
- 14. Rashmee Karnard-Jani
- 15. Suzanne Vaughan
- 16. Cheryl Zurawski

Introduction of Incoming Chair

Dr. Colin Hastings is a community-engaged researcher and educator blending the sociology of health, socio-legal studies, and media studies in his work. He's published many studies about community-based HIV education, media representation of HIV criminal non-disclosure cases, and key trends and patterns in HIV criminalization in Canada. His dissertation project was an institutional ethnographic study of how news stories about HIV criminalization are produced in Canada. In 2016, Colin won the George W. Smith Student Paper Award for the paper he presented at the Annual Meeting in Seattle. Welcome Colin!

Recognition of 2021 Award Recipients

Dorothy E. Smith Award for Scholar-Activism Co-Winners: Frank Ridzi, Le Moyne College and Central New York Community Foundation and Frank Wang, National Chengchi University, Taiwan

George W. Smith Paper Award Winner: No award given

Organization of 2022 Paper Panels, Roundtables, and Critical Dialogues

72nd Annual Meeting

Theme: The Sociological Reimagination: From Moments to Momentum (hyperlink)

Institutional Ethnography (IE) SSSP Business Meeting July 31, 2021

August 5-7, 2022 at the Omni Los Angeles Hotel

Only 3 IE-specific sessions

- 1. [Thematic] Publishing IE Research: Reflections on Key Moments
- 2. Exploring the Social in New Ways (similar to our new directions in IE panel) or Researching Institutional Ethnography
- 3. Mapping Intersections Across Institutions, organizers: Eric Mykhalovskiy and Colin Hastings
- 4. Foregrounding IE as Change to Indigenous People, organizers: Cheryl Zurwaski and Rashmee Karnard-Jani

Up to 7 Co-sponsored sessions

- 1. Institutional Ethnography, Social Justice, and Activism, organizers Suzanne Vaughan, Frank Ridzi, and Frank Wang cosponsored with Social Action & Change
 - a. Chair will need to follow-up and coordinate to finalize title and email to SSSP program office
- 2. Reconceptualizing Educational Opportunities: Challenging Inequality, Creating Equity cosponsored with Educational Problems
 - a. Initial contact made with outgoing Chair
 - b. New Chair will need to follow-up and coordinate to finalize title and email to SSSP program office
- 3. Institutional Complexities and Responses to Crises co-sponsored with Environment, Science, & Technology
 - a. Initial contact made with outgoing Chair
 - b. New Chair will need to follow-up and coordinate to finalize title and email to SSSP program office
- 4. "Re-imagining Power and Labor" co-sponsored with Poverty, Class, and Inequality
 - a. Initial contact made with outgoing Chair
 - b. New Chair will need to follow-up and coordinate to finalize title and email to SSSP program office
- 5. Co-sponsored roundtable: Transnational and Comparative Institutional Ethnographic Research
 - a. Initial contact made with outgoing Chair
 - b. New Chair will need to follow-up and coordinate to finalize title and email to SSSP program office
- 6. Collaborate with Health, Health Policy, and Health Services
 - a. New Chair will need to follow-up to expand on the initial idea and coordinate
- 7. Collaborate with Teaching Social Problems
 - a. New Chair will need to follow-up to expand on the initial idea and coordinate

IE Podcast

Institutional Ethnography (IE) SSSP Business Meeting July 31, 2021

Committee: Sophie Hickey, Fiona Webster, Helen Hudson, Daniel Grace, Liz Brule, Orla Murray, LaNysha Adams, Kate Hardin, Susan Maret, Rashmee Karnad-Jani, Cath Jenkins, Elena Kariki, Helen Hudson.

If you'd like to join our meeting in late September/early October, please let Colin or LaNysha know.

Open Discussion

IE Workshop: canceled this year – need a strong committee for next year's in-person meeting and workshop

Award Committees need additional participants.

• Morena Tartari volunteered for George W. Smith Award committee.