To: SSSP Board of Directors and Executive Officer

From: Jennifer Mueller, Chair, 2021-22 Elections Committee

RE: 2022 Elections Committee Report

Date: June 7, 2022

1. 2022 Elections Committee: Jennifer Mueller (Chair), Felicia Arriaga (Member), Watoii Rabii (Member), and Emily H. A. Yen (Member).

- 2. The 2022 approved nominations list was as follows: President-Elect (1 position); Vice President-Elect (1 position); Board of Directors (3 positions); Board of Directors—Student Representative (1 position); Anti-Harassment Committee (1 position); Budget, Finance, & Audit Committee (1 position); Committee on Committees (2 positions); Editorial & Publications Committee (2 positions); Membership & Outreach Committee—Student Representative (1 position).
- 3. The Process: SSSP Administrative Officer and Meeting Manager Michele Koontz identified nominees and sent those names along with the full list and description of the election committee process to Elections Committee Chair, Jennifer Mueller. All nominees were confirmed to be members of the Society.

Each member of the Elections Committee assumed responsibility for contacting nominees for 2-3 of the positions/committees. Nominees were initially contacted by email on August 24, 2021 or soon after. Emails followed this general format:

(Subject heading) Time Sensitive – SSSP Nomination

Dear [nominee],

It is my pleasure as Chair [or Member] of the SSSP Elections Committee to write to inform you that you havebeen nominated to run for the office of [insert office and term dates]. You may wish to consult the SSSP By-Laws and Operations Manual to review the duties of this position:

 $\frac{https://www.sssp1.org/index.cfm/m/29/locationSectionId/0/By-Laws}{https://www.sssp1.org/index.cfm/m/30/Operations_Manual/%20The%20Elections%20Committee}$

The Elections Committee must fill the election slate by mid-September. Accordingly, I ask that you respond to this email by [insert date, two weeks from the date of the email], indicating your willingness to stand for election to this office. Congratulations on your nomination! I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely, [committee member's name]

A few days prior to the deadline, Elections Committee members sent follow up emails to nominees who had not yet responded to their initial inquiry. All nominees responded to these inquiries by the deadline. Jennifer Mueller, Elections Committee Chair, emailed the initial

2022 Candidates List (indicating willingness to serve) to Michele Koontz on September 15, 2021.

4. During the Elections Committee's initial contacts, all but one of the nominees agreed to run for their nominated position. A list of two alternatives for the Board of Directors–Student Representative position were provided by the Nominations Committee Chair. Elections Committee chair, Jennifer Mueller, reached out to the first person on the list, and this nominee agreed to be included on the slate.

After the initial slate of candidates was confirmed, one of the candidates for the Editorial and Publications committee emailed the Elections Committee to withdraw their candidacy. An alternate was provided by the Nominations Committee Chair. Jennifer Mueller reached out to this person, who agreed to be included on the slate.

5. Voting and Participation: The 2022 General Election Open for Voting e-mail notification was distributed on February 15, 2022. E-mail reminders were sent to eligible members who had not yet voted on February 22, March 1, March 8, March 14, and March 15. In addition, the Administrative Office emailed Division Chairs on February 24 to ask that they reach out to division members, in a non-partisan fashion, and encourage them to vote in the election.

As of March 15, there were 1,811 members of SSSP, 126 of whom requested not to vote in elections and were not contacted. Among the 1,685 remaining members eligible and willing to vote, 350 members voted in the election. Based on total members, this represents a participation rate of 19%. For comparison, participation rates for the prior four years (based on total members) were as follows: 25% in 2021; 16% in 2020; 20% in 2019; 17% in 2018.

- 6. The preliminary election results revealed that the membership vote for the Board of Directors positions had resulted in a tie for one of the positions. Per the by-laws, "In case of ties, the Board of Directors shall be requested to cast the deciding vote." Michele Koontz, Administrative Officer and Meeting Manager, reached out to members of the Board of Directors to inform them of the situation and solicit their votes between the two tied candidates.
- 7. Election Results: The results of the 2022 election were as follows:
 - a. President-Elect (2022-2023); President (2023-2024): Mary Bernstein
 - b. Vice-President-Elect (2022-2023); Vice-President (2023-2024): Anthony A. Peguero
 - c. Secretary (2022-2023): Glenn W. Muschert
 - d. Treasurer (2022-2023): Heather E. Dillaway
 - e. Board of Directors (2022-2025): Barbara Katz Rothman and Cameron T. Whitley
 - f. Board of Directors: Student Representative (2022-2024): Shiv Issar
 - g. Anti-Harassment Committee (2022-2025): Kathryn Nowotny
 - h. Budget, Finance, and Audit Committee (2022-2025): Sarah E. Castillo
 - i. Committee on Committees (2022-2025): Shantel Gabrieal Buggs and Valerie Leiter
 - j. Editorial and Publications Committee (2022-2025): Alexis A. Bender and Luis Fernandez
 - k. Membership and Outreach Committee (2022-2025): Christina Barmon and Jacqueline M. Zalewski
 - 1. Membership and Outreach Committee: Student Representative (2022-2025): Kenya L.

Goods

- m. Proposed By-Laws Amendments:
 - i. Article IV, Section 2 (Qualifications for Holding Society Positions): Approved
 - ii. Article V, Section 1 (Composition of the Board): Approved
 - iii. Article V, Section 6 (Removal of a Board Member): Approved
 - iv. Article VI, Section 4 (Names of Standing Committees): Approved
 - v. Article VI, Section 7 (Editorial and Publications Committee): Approved
 - vi. Article VI, Section 32 (Justice 21 Committee): Approved
 - vii. Article VI, Section 18 (C. Wright Mills Award Committee): Approved
- 8. Michele Koontz, Administrative Officer and Meeting Manager, sent personalized notification letters to all candidates via email on March 16, 2022. On March 22, 2022, Jennifer Mueller, Elections Committee Chair, circled back with the two tied candidates to inform them of the results of the Board of Director's tie-breaking vote. Final election results were posted on the SSSP website on March 28, 2022, and an email announcement was sent to the membership.
- 9. The Elections Committee expresses our sincere gratitude to Michele Koontz for her tremendous support and responsiveness throughout the elections process!

Respectfully submitted,

Jennifer Mueller, Ph.D. Chair, 2021-2022 Elections Committee