# 2022-2023 Erwin O. Smigel Award Committee Report

## 1. The Committee:

• Chair: Ranita Ray

Chair-Elect: Krista BrumleyMember: John D. Foster

## 2. Task:

• The committee received and reviewed a total of six complete applications this year to select applicants qualifying for funding to attend the association's 2023 annual meeting. After reviewing all applications, the committee held their meeting, via zoom, on 4/10/2023 11 am—11:30 am Mountain Time.

## 3. Results:

• The committee recommended funding for four out of the six applicants. While the committee desired to fund all applicants and offer generous funds to cover all travel costs, we allocated funds based on airfare, determined by distance the attendees were traveling. Below are the specific allocations:

Meghna Bhat: Five Hundred Dollars Cynthia Zhang: Five Hundred Dollars

Matthew DelSesto: Two Hundred and Fifty Dollars

Yoav Sivan: Two Hundred and Fifty Dollars

## 4. **Recommendations**: The committee would like to make two recommendations:

- Higher funds be allocated for the purpose of underemployed or unemployed sociologists traveling to the association's annual conference. Given the number of applications the Erwin O. Smigel Award Committee receives, the committee is regularly unable to support reasonable costs for all applicants.
- Definitions around underemployment and unemployment should be further clarified to indicate whether retired members who retired as full professors and/or are currently professor Emeritus also qualify for the award.