To: Board of Directors, The Society for the Study of Social Problems (SSSP) From: Dr. Emily Schneider Re: 2023 Joseph B. Gittler Award Committee Report

July 5, 2023

Dear Colleagues,

This is a summary of activities for the 2023 Joseph B. Gittler Award Committee. This award was established in 2007 through a bequest by Joseph B. Gittler in recognition of a SSSP member for significant scholarly achievements on the ethical resolution of social problems. Nominations were due in April 2023. The committee received nominations for one individual, Dr. William Cabin. "According to the guidelines, all nominees must have been an active member of the Society for the Study of Social Problems for at least three years prior to receiving the award." The nominee met this criterion.

Dr. Cabin nominated himself, with supporting letters from Lynn Videka, Dean Emerita at the University of Michigan, Jennifer Roebuck Bulanda, Associate Professor of Sociology & Gerontology at Miami University, and Tim Colenback, Assistant Dean for Enrollment Management at the University of Michigan School of Social Work. These were then circulated to the committee members for consideration alongside the nomination materials and the nomination letter. The committee unanimously agreed on Dr. Cabin's selection based on his dedication to SSSP and his history of scholar activism. The committee was impressed by the ways his work offers creative policy-level solutions to issues surrounding Medicare, hospice, and end of life care. The committee especially noted the impact of Dr. Cabin's work for vulnerable communities including older, homebound, and chronically ill people as well as those with Alzheimer and behavioral health diagnoses. The committee agreed that Dr. Cabin's interdisciplinary approach to these important issues promotes ethical solutions to social problems, namely the prioritization of care over profit in the United States medical system. The committee also acknowledged Dr. Cabin's extensive efforts to disseminate his work through numerous presentations and articles as well his impactful roles in community health organizations. Finally, the committee acknowledged Dr. Cabin's many years of service to SSSP in various leadership positions. Together, these factors led us to conclude that he was the overwhelming choice for the 2023 award.

I would like to thank the members of the committee for their service: Kathleen A. Asbury, Community College of Philadelphia, David G. Embrick, University of Connecticut, John D. Foster, University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff, Michael O. Johnston, William Penn University, and Cameron T. Whitley, Western Washington University.

Sincerely,

Emily Schneider Northern Arizona University Chair, 2023 Joseph B. Gittler Award Committee