22 June 2023

To: SSSP Board of DirectorsFrom: Stephen Pfohl, Chair 2022-23 SSSP Lee Founders Award CommitteeRe: Report of 2022-23 SSSP Lee Founders Award Committee

Members of the 2022-23 SSSP Lee Founders Award Committee included Woody Doane (University of Hartford), Jennifer Roebuck Bulanda (Miami University), Laurel Holland (Georgia Gwinnett College), Valerie Jenness, (University of California, Irvine), Nadia Y. Kim, Jerome Krase (Brooklyn College, CUNY), Tracy L. Vargas, (University of North Carolina at Pembroke), and Stephen Pfohl (Boston College).

The 2022-23 SSSP Lee Founders Award Committee considered the candidacy of three distinguished nominees:

- **Professor Glenn Muschert**, Khalifa University of Science and Technology, Abu Dhabi. Professor Muschert was nominated in 2019 by Professor Heather M. Dalmage, Roosevelt University; Professor Barbara Katz Rothman, CUNY; and Professor Wendy Simonds, Georgia State University.
- **Professor Barbara Wejnert**, University of Buffalo. Professor Wejnert was nominated in 2019 by Professor Jeeva Nirella, University of Colombo, Sri Lanka; Professor Ram Alagan, Alabama State University; and Professor Seela Aladuwaka, Alabama State University.
- **Professor Rank Ridzi**, Lemoyne College. Professor Ridzi was nominated in 2023 by Associate Professor Emeritus Suzanne Vaughan, Arizona State University; Associate Professor Emeritus Paul C. Luken, University of West Georgia; and Professor Emeritus Marjorie L. DeVault, Syracuse University.

After reviewing the candidates' nominating materials and balloting by email, the committee decided to name **Professor Frank Ridzi** as the recipient of the 2022-23 SSSP Lee Founders Award. Committee members were impressed by Professor Ridzi's sustained commitment to justice-oriented social research, teaching, and service, especially his creative use of the methods of institutional ethnography to map pathways of community change on issues ranging from welfare reform, educational inequality, and quality of life to the dangers posed by residential lead paint for refugees from global conflicts living in Syracuse, New York. The committee's vote was unanimous.