The deadline to nominate books for the 2014 C. Wright Mills Award is December 15, 2014.


Nominations are now open for the 2014 C. Wright Mills Award. Members of the Society are encouraged to submit letters of nomination for this prestigious annual award. Self nominations are acceptable. Edited volumes, textbooks, fiction and self-published works are not eligible. Eligible books must be first edition (not a reprint or later edition) and bear a 2014 copyright date.

The C. Wright Mills Award, established in 1964, is made annually and carries with it a stipend of $500 for the author(s) of the winning book. The deadline for the 2014 award nominations is December 15, 2014. The 2014 award will be presented at the 65th Annual Meeting in Chicago, IL, August 21-23, 2015.


C. Wright Mills wrote in The Power Elite that: “Only when mind has an autonomous basis, independent of power, but powerfully related to it, can mind exert its force in the shaping of human affairs. This is democratically possible only when there exists a free and knowledgeable public, to which [people] of knowledge may address themselves, and to which [people] of power are truly responsible.” Consistent with Mills’ dedication to a search for a sophisticated understanding of the individual and society, the award will be given for that book with a 2014 copyright date that most effectively:

1) critically addresses an issue of contemporary public importance,

2) brings to the topic a fresh, imaginative perspective,

3) advances social scientific understanding of the topic,

4) displays a theoretically informed view and empirical orientation,

5) evinces quality in style of writing,

6) explicitly or implicitly contains implications for courses of action


Review the list of the past winners of the C. Wright Mills Award.


Please submit nominations, including a cover letter explaining how the nominated book addresses each of the criteria for the award, by completing our online nomination form.

The Society for the Study of Social Problems established the C. Wright Mills Award in 1964. The C. Wright Mills Award is one of the most prestigious awards given in the area of social science research. We encourage you to nominate appropriate publications. Please note that eligible books must bear a copyright date that corresponds to the award year (i.e. to be considered for the 2014 award, a book must bear a 2014 copyright date).

Please submit nominations, including a cover letter explaining how the nominated book addresses each of the criteria for the award to:

Please address all questions to:

Dr. Shirley A. Jackson, Chair
C. Wright Mills Award Committee

For further information, contact:

Michele Koontz, Administrative Officer & Meeting Manager
Work: (865) 689-1531; Fax: (865) 689-1534; E-mail: