The C. Wright Mills Award was presented at the SSSP Awards Banquet.

The 2006 C. Wright Mills winner is:

Sudhir Alladi Venkatesh

Off the Books: the Underground Economy of the Urban Poor

Harvard University Press




Congratulations, also, to all of the 2006 C. Wright Mills Award Finalists


Lawrence D. Bobo and Mia Tuan, Prejudice in Politics: Group Position, Public Opinion, and the Wisconsin Treaty Rights Dispute, Harvard University Press

Kieran Healy, Last Best Gifts: Altruism and the Market for Human Blood and Organs, University of Chicago Press

Rosanna Hertz, Single by Chance, Mothers by Choice: How Women are Choosing Parenthood without Marriage and Creating the New American Family, Oxford University Press

Jeff Manza and Christopher Uggen, Locked Out: Felon Disenfranchisement and American Democracy, Oxford University Press

Ruth Milkman, L.A. Story: Immigrant Workers and the Future of the U.S. Labor Movement, Russell Sage Foundation

Kathleen M. Shaw, Sara Goldrick-Rab, Christopher Mazzeo, and Jerry Jacobs, Putting Poor People to Work: How the Work-First Idea Eroded College Access for the Poor, Russell Sage Foundation

Elisabeth Young-Bruehl, Why Arendt Matters, Yale University Press


Hector Delgado, Chair, University of La Verne
Kathleen Lowney, Chair-Elect, Valdosta State University
Tracy Dietz, University of Central Florida
Marlese Durr, Wright State University
Luis Fernandez, Northern Arizona University
Gary Alan Fine, Northwestern University
Valerie Gunter, University of New Orleans
Arlene Stein, Rutgers University