The deadline for nominations for the 2019 Arlene Kaplan Daniels Paper Award is April 15, 2019.


Nominations are now open for the 2019 Arlene Kaplan Daniels Paper Award.  Members of the Society are urged to nominate one or more persons for the award.  The deadline for the 2019 award nominations is April 15, 2019. 

The Arlene Kaplan Daniels Paper Award for the best paper on Women and Social Justice was established in 2016 and will be awarded annually with a stipend of $500.  Eligible papers must have been published in calendar years 2017 or 2018.  Arlene was the first female editor of Social Problems (1975-1978) and became the Society’s President in 1986.  Her scholarship addressed women’s exclusion in the labor market and examined women’s career contingencies, union involvement, feminist networking, and the salience of women’s voluntary work.  This scholarship found its way into her 1987 SSSP Presidential Address “Invisible Work” and her 1988 book, Invisible Careers.  She supported other women sociologists across the discipline and professional associations through mentoring, preparing references, and editing papers.

SSSP will honor Dr. Daniels for her service with this award.  Her scholarship has made an important contribution to the discipline through its unparalleled awareness of women’s contribution to society.  The award will be given for a paper published in calendar years 2017 or 2018 that:

1)  Addresses contemporary issues of women’s justice locally, nationally, and globally;
2)  Brings a fresh perspective to women’s inclusion in global society and advances new theoretical directions
     discussing women and social justice;
3)  Is theoretically informed and possesses an empirical orientation.


Review the list of the past winners of the Arlene Kaplan Daniels Paper Award.


To nominate a person for the 2019 Arlene Kaplan Daniels Paper Award, click the following link: Arlene Kaplan Daniels Paper Award Nomination Form.  All nominations must be submitted online no later than April 15, 2019.  The 2019 award will be presented at the 69th Annual Meeting in New York City, NY, August 9-11, 2019.

Please address all questions to:

Dr. Ebonie L. Cunningham Stringer, Chair
Arlene Kaplan Daniels Paper Award Committee