Thomas C. Hood Social Action Award

The deadline to submit nominations for the 2022 Thomas C. Hood Social Action Award was April 1, 2022. Check back this fall for the 2023 nomination procedures.  See below for information on award eligibility and a list of past winners.


Since 1991 the SSSP has given an award to an organization in the city hosting the annual meeting for its social justice work. In 2009, the award was named in honor of Thomas C. Hood, who retired as Executive Officer in 2009 after serving the Society in that capacity for 19 years. The award carries a stipend of $5,000. Past winners of this award can be found here.


The Thomas C. Hood Social Action Award is awarded to a local grassroots social justice organization in the Standard Metropolitan Statistical Area (as defined by the U.S. Bureau of Census) in which the annual meeting is held that year.


While the recipient can be an organization in the Los Angeles area that engages in direct service work, preferred recipients for the Social Action Award will be organizations that also work at the level of systems change. The organization may not be a local or regional chapter of a national or international organization, and must be one that will benefit significantly from the award. The nomination of organizations that include directly impacted people and communities in leadership positions and decisions are also encouraged.

The award is a fitting expression of the overall purpose of the Society for the Study of Social Problems, which is concerned with applying scientific methods and theories to the study of social problems. SSSP aims to bring together scholars, practitioners, and advocates to examine and understand social problems in order to further solutions and develop social policy based on knowledge.

The nomination deadline for the 2022 award was April 1, 2022The 2022 award will be presented at the 72nd Annual Meeting, August 5-7, 2022.

Please address all questions to:

Dr. Stephanie A. Limoncelli, Chair
Thomas C. Hood Social Action Award Committee