The deadline to nominate a member for the 2020 Doris Wilkinson Faculty Leadership Award was April 15. Check back this fall for the 2021 nomination procedures. See below for information on award eligibility and a list of past winners.


Nominations are now closed for the 2020 Doris Wilkinson Faculty Leadership Award. Check back this fall for information on how to submit nominations for the 2021 Doris Wilkinson Faculty Leadership Award.

The Doris Wilkinson Faculty Leadership Award was established in 2015 and will be awarded annually with a stipend of $500 to an outstanding faculty member who has exercised an extensive leadership role within the SSSP and other professional societies and within the larger community. In her 2001 Social Problems article, “Making History: A Personal Narrative of My Presidential Year,” Doris chronicles her activities in the Society during the early 1970s, when SSSP’s programs and members offered her a refuge during a restless period within the American Sociological Association (ASA). She was a participant-observer of the events that occurred when Sociologists for Women in Society and the Association of Black Sociologists were seen as “outsiders within” and sought “meaningful” entry and participation in the ASA. Doris turned her observation into action and became one of the leading voices in bringing change to the society and sociology as a discipline. Her leadership was consistent with the Society’s mission, and the Doris Wilkinson Faculty Leadership Award will be given to a scholar who effectively:

1) Addresses social issues of contemporary public importance;

2) Brings a deepened public understanding to these issues;

3) Advances social understanding of leadership for change within the larger society;

4) Proposes courses of action to effect that change.


Review the list of past winners of the Doris Wilkinson Faculty Leadership Award. 


The online nomination form for the 2021 Doris Wilkinson Faculty Award will be available in the fall of 2020.

Please address all questions to:
Dr. Shirley A. Jackson, Chair
Doris Wilkinson Faculty Leadership Award Committee