In Pursuit of Social Justice


As an interdisciplinary community of scholars, practitioners, advocates, and students interested in the application of critical, scientific, and humanistic perspectives to the study of vital social problems, the SSSP is engaged in multiple avenues of social justice research and action. In addition to SSSP publications, the Society regularly participates in calls to action on various social justice issues. Each year, the SSSP also presents the Thomas C. Hood Social Action Award, which recognizes social justice work of grassroots organizations in marginalized communities in the city/local area hosting the annual meeting. See below for more information on these activities.

SSSP Resolutions

2016 Approved Resolutions

Resolutions were solicited via several calls sent out to the membership by the SSSP Administrative Office as well as by emails sent to the Chairs of the 22 Divisions by the SSSP Vice President, Ronnie Steinberg.  This year, three proposed resolutions were submitted, including the expression of gratitude.

The resolutions were provided both online prior to the meeting and in hardcopy format at the annual meeting for the membership to review prior to the annual business meeting.

In an annual meeting of the Council of Division Chairs, the proposed resolutions were reviewed and all resolutions were passed. 

The revised resolutions were then reviewed and voted on at the annual business meeting of the SSSP, held on Saturday, August 20, 2016.  

Click here for the 2016 Approved Resolutions.

Click here for past years Approved Resolutions.

SSSP Letters

If a passed resolution requires letters or e-mails to be sent, the Administrative Office distributes these to appropriate individuals or agencies.

Click here to read the letters.

Take Action!

Follow Up Letter Regarding the University of Massachusetts Regarding Labor Center

On behalf of SSSP’s Board of Directors and the Labor Studies Division, President Donileen R. Loseke and Executive Officer Héctor Delgado sent a letter to the Provost of the University of Massachusetts urging the university to restore funds to the Labor Center that have been cut in recent years, including funds for graduate students and part-time faculty. The letter emphasizes how students from working- and middle-class families will be denied the opportunity to do graduate work in labor studies at UMass if these funds are not restored, contrary to the university’s mission to provide access to all students, regardless of their financial means. Click here to read the full letter. Click here to read the follow up letter sent to our Board of Directors.

Click here for more Action items...

Thomas C. Hood Social Action Award

The Thomas C. Hood Social Action Award was established in 1991 to recognize organizations that have a history of challenging social inequalities, promoting social change, and/or working toward the empowerment of marginalized peoples. Its work must demonstrate sensitivity to and respect for cultural diversity. Small, local agencies in the area of that year's SSSP annual meeting are given preference rather than large organizations or chapters of nationally-based organizations. Click here for a list of past winners.